waltee

K1 Visa application using a co-sponsor

7 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Italy
Timeline

Hello VJ community,

My fiance is a medical student currently in her final year and will be graduating in a couple of months. She is planning to apply for a K1 visa using her "sister" who is single and unmarried as a "co-sponsor" who earns good enough. But I have noticed a lot of threads on VJ where the consulate in Naples have rejected visa application where a co-sponsor were used. Also she will be studying for a medical licensing exam and won't be able to work for a while. Also I am a PhD student and will be graduating sometime next year. Will we hit a road block or can we go ahead and apply for the visa given that we are young and graduating soon?

Thanks,

Walter

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Italy
Timeline

Naples doesn't seem to like co-sponsors for K1 visas. Considering those other people's experiences, it looks like it will be safer if you guys get married and apply for a CR1 visa. While it's up to the consular officer to accept or refuse a co-sponsor for an i-134, they can't refuse a co-sponsor for an i-864 (provided the poverty guidelines are met). If you choose the CR1, make sure you have good evidence of bonafide marriage when you send in the petition (and later on, for the interview). Refer to the guides on top of the page to learn more about the two processes.

Good luck!

Edited by a+j

- I am the beneficiary -

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Italy
Timeline