Australia US Consulate Reviews

The Reviews below are actual experiences by members of the VisaJourney community and provide insight into the many immigration related offices around the world. If you are a member and would like to submit a review please follow one of the links below. To find reviews on a consulate or CIS office please make a selection from one of the pull down tabs and click "Find Entries".


Submit New Consulate Review     Submit New Local CIS Office Review     Statistics: Country || Local CIS Office
Consulate:    Local Office:    Rating:    Topic:   

Australia US Consulate Reviews
Average Rating: 4.4 / 5
370 Review(s)
Sydney, Australia
Review #27419 on November 3, 2019:

Jess&Haruha



Rating:

· 2 people found this review helpful

Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: IR-1/CR-1 Visa

Our interview with the Sydney consulate was really easy. We were allowed to attend together. The "questioning" lasted only ~3 minutes. We were asked (together) only one questions: "Have you met each other's families?". Then, I (petitioner) was asked three questions: "Who are you going to work for in the USA?", "What kind of work will you do?", and "Where do you intend for you both to live?".

The consulate processed our paperwork. Despite having ~$190k in assets (but most is in foreign accounts) they wanted to see my joint sponsor papers (my parents). We did not have our police check with us (it took 4 weeks to receive). But we mailed this to them when we received it 3 days after our interview, and they processed it quickly and we were not significantly delayed.

The consulate officers were extremely friendly and helpful. I was worried about numerous aspects of our application, and I sent many emails enquiring about random things. They always responded quickly and were always helpful and provided clear answers to my questions. In-person they were equally friendly and helpful. We had a great experience- and I believe anyone filing for a visa in Sydney would have an equally great experience. javascript:emoticon('')

PM
Top
Sydney, Australia
Review #27286 on October 17, 2019:





Rating:

· 2 people found this review helpful

Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: IR-1/CR-1 Visa

My husband's interview was on 15 October 2019 and I came with him to ensure everything was OK. His interview was scheduled for 10:30 AM but based on other reviews, we went to the consulate when it opened at 8 AM and got in pretty quickly. We also made sure not to drink anything before we went, based on those reviews, as there are no bathrooms up on the 59th floor. There were 2 ladies that helped us put the necessary documents into a clear sleeve and then went through security. I brought my phone so I had to give that to security to hold for me and then we went up a secure elevator with a guard to floor 59. We took a ticket and waited for about 10 minutes before we went to a window to have my husband's photo and fingerprints taken and to look through the documents to make sure we had everything needed for the actual interview. We waited another 15-20 minutes and then we were called up to another window for the interview. A very nice man did the interview but he was definitely thorough. He did engage in small talk to make us comfortable (actually me as my husband was cool as a cucumber while I was nervous and fidgeting a lot ) so that helped. He didn't need to ask us any questions about our relationship since we've been married for almost 18 years but did ask questions around my husband's first marriage due to the divorce decree not having the kind of seal on it that you see on US documents (black seal on a document with black ink) but it was fine. We also went through our assets to make sure we had plenty and that was fine, too. He finally said that he saw enough and granted the visa.

Overall the experience was pretty good and the people in the consulate were very friendly. The whole thing took less than an hour and we were done and out of the consulate before 9 AM!

My husband received his passport in the post (mailed to Melbourne) 2 days later with the visa so we are set to go back to the US in December!

PM
Top
Sydney, Australia
Review #27278 on October 15, 2019:





Rating:

· 1 person found this review helpful

Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: K1 Visa

Hello everyone!

I just got approved for my K1 Fiance Visa on the 1st of October at Sydney US Consulate in the MLC Centre. Yayyyyy it finally happens 😍 after 7 months we have been waiting since my fiance submitted his petition 129-F application.

My fiance flew over to Sydney from Phoenix to support me with the final interview, his presence really helped and gave me more confidence.

The night before the interview. I barely slept 😂(may be an hour I think haha), in my mind I was just thinking about the interview, I was very excited, anxious and a bit nervous at the same time.

So my interview was at 8AM in the morning, my fiance and I tried to get to the US Consulate a bit earlier like around 7:20AM, though when we tried to go up with the elevator around 7:30 or so, it was locked and no one can use it except the people working there I guess. So my fiance and I just sat at the cafe on the ground floor and waiting for the time to come. So we tried again around 7:45 and it finally works, we got the elevator and went up to the 10th floor where the main entry of the US Consulate, there is some waiting chairs outside so I just sat there and waiting to go inside the Consulate.

Till 8AM, the Consulate opens, and the security guard asked us to line up, there was a round 5 of us waiting outside, I'm the 2nd person of the line. So we went in there, there was 2 ladies in the front counter ask me "Are you engaged or married to the US Citizen?" I told them I'm engaged, and they asked me for my required documents so they can check and put them in the plastic zip bag, they gave it back for me to hold. After that I had to go through the security check point, I put all my stuffs on the slider, my jacket and also my shoes as well, so just wear some kinds of shoes easy to take off when you come for the interview.

After this point, there was a security guard took me up to the 59th floor in the elevator. I went inside, took my ticket and waiting to be called, not long after, my ticket was called and I went up to the counter (it has around 8 counters in there, separate us with the glass in the middle, they talked very clear, you can even hear what they say when you are at the waiting seats), there was a lady in there asked me for my documents again, she checked everything about my identity and all the requied documents I brought with me. After everything was good, she kept my documents, she gave me some information to read about the K1 fiance visa and immigration to the US, and she told me to take the seat and waiting to be called again.

Around 20 mins later, my ticket was called again one more time, I knew this is the time for the interview, I was excited, nervous and emotions all over the place haha 😂, I was the first interview of the day. So I went up to the counter again one more time, this time was a male Consulate officer interviewed me. At first he introduced his name and said he was going to interview me today, he asked my name and he said that I need to hand up and swear to say the truth at my interview, I said yes and swore everything I will say today is true.

So here are the questions that he asked me at the interview:
1) What is your fiance name?
2) How and when do you meet?
3) How does your relationship progress after you met?
4) How many times do you meet in person and when?
5) How long each time did you spend when you met in person?
6) How do you communicate with each other?
7) Have you been to the US before?
8) What do you do for work?
9) What does your fiance do for work?
10) Have you been married before?
12) Has your fiance been married before?
13) Have you meet his family before?
14) Does he live in a house or an apartment?
15) Where does he live?
16) Are you going to get marry and what is your wedding plan?

(Small Note: I was previously denied a tourist visa in May 2018 due to not having enough ties to Australia and I was worried it might come up or affect this interview but the consulate officer did not ask about it.)

After all of these questions above, he said everything was good, and he said my visa is approved and congratulations. I was so happy and screamed in happiness 😂. I said thank you and went down to ground floor where my fiance waiting for me, we feel super blessed 😘.

Overall I had a great experience at the US consulate in Sydney, it was about an hour since I got inside and finished, they were very nice and professional. Everything was processed fast, not just on my interview day but whenever we have any concerns or inquiries, they replied and assisted us by quickly. I hope my experience will help you a bit with your visa journey ahead. Good luck and all the best 😇

Cece

PM
Top
Sydney, Australia
Review #27131 on September 24, 2019:

Gasolina424



Rating:


Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: K1 Visa

Excellent experience, exactly as everyone explained here, all the info I received was invaluable, thank you! Took my ticket at 0803 and was out by 0903. The officer asked a lot about my fiancé’s previous denial of entry to the US, but otherwise no issues. If you follow the instructions here you’ll be prepared. I cannot thank everyone enough for their guidance!

PM
Top
Sydney, Australia
Review #27129 on September 24, 2019:

Erric



Rating:

· 1 person found this review helpful

Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: K1 Visa

Just had my interview today (24/09/2019). Most of the reviews seem very accurate. Thought I'd pitch in my experience because everyone else's experience helped me out a lot!

My interview was scheduled for 8:00 am so i arrived approximately at 7:30 am. Getting around the consulate is fairly easy. There's a food court down below, and if you enter the consulate through the food court area, you'll make your way up two sets of escalators. Once you've gone up two sets of escalators, you'll find yourself in a foyer area, with a few tables / couches / seats and a small cafe. I waited here for about five minutes, until I realised that I could go up to level 10 without waiting. To get to level 10, you'll take the set of elevators on the right. Level 10 will appear on the touch pad. From here, you'll follow the signs towards the US Consulate Security checkpoint, where, you guessed it, you'll go through security.

Before you go through the security process, you'll enter the room and hand in the documents you are required to bring; cover sheet, passport, photos and so on. The lovely people here will place all your required documents in a plastic sleeve which you'll eventually hand over to a Consulate Officer. Once you go through security. the officers will direct you to take a lift where another officer is waiting, and they'll take you to level 59. Nice views from up there!

Once you're at level 59, officers will direct you to go through a door and take a ticket / number, where you'll then sit down and wait for your number to be called up. As mentioned in other reviews, it definitely feels as if you're at a bank, with less privacy available. Sorry if you're shy! Everyone can hear your conversation / story with the Consulate Officers. But don't fear, if you're relationship is real, just be honest about how you meet / how you continued speaking. They're not there to trip you up, they just want to hear your story.

First time you're called up your number is called, you'll hand over that plastic document full of your required documents to the CO. They'll tell you to take a seat again and wait for your number to be called again. I was waiting in level 59 for approximately 30 or 40 minutes. Seemed like forever! But it was definitely just the nerves.

My number was called and it was time to prove myself. I'm not sure if the CO introduced himself, but i'd describe him as a friendly professional. He was very polite but when it came time, he mentioned; "time to get serious, it's game on from here on out". Before that I was instructed to raise my right hand and take an oath stating that I'd say the truth and nothing but the truth. Good luck if your relationship isn't legit, they'll pick you out right away.

The questions he asked me were;

- Who is your petitioner?
- How did you two meet?
- How did you remain in contact with each other / what is your main source of contact?
- What does she do for work?
- Where does she live?
- Who is the co-sponsor? What does he do for work?
- Have you met your co-sponsor? How would you describe him?
- What will you do for work? Do you want to continue your line of work over there? If so, in which state do you wish to continue you work?
- Where and when do you plan to get married?
- How much money do you believe you'll have saved before flying over to America?

Those are the questions i remember off the top of my head. Seems like a few questions but i barely had to go into detail. Just quick, short, precise answers made this CO happy. Even though you are there to prove yourself, I don't believe they want to hear your life-story.

At the end of those questions, the CO said; "alright, seems good on your end, congratulations, your passport should be in the mail within two-weeks. Good luck for your future".

I believe I left the consulate at approximately 9:15am, so i was there for roughly an hour and a half. I'm over the moon now though! Finally, all of the long-distance dating, time and effort made by myself and fiancee has finally come to an end. Once I get that passport, it'll be time to purchase a one-way ticket to America so me and my fiancee can start our lives together! (After nearly 3 years of long-distance dating. I'm sure other people have done longer than that though).

Good luck to everyone else out there! The process is daunting but the feeling is overwhelmingly amazing once it's completed.

PM
Top
Now Showing Records 1 to 5 (of 370 total)

Pages: 1 2 3 Last  





Review Statistics: