Sri Lanka US Consulate Reviews

The Reviews below are actual experiences by members of the VisaJourney community and provide insight into the many immigration related offices around the world. If you are a member and would like to submit a review please follow one of the links below. To find reviews on a consulate or CIS office please make a selection from one of the pull down tabs and click "Find Entries".


Submit New Consulate Review     Submit New Local CIS Office Review     Statistics: Country || Local CIS Office
Consulate:    Local Office:    Rating:    Topic:   

Sri Lanka US Consulate Reviews
Average Rating: 3.5 / 5
21 Review(s)
Sri Lanka
Review #15590 on November 13, 2014:

dinodesilva

Dinodesilva


Rating:

· 1 person found this review helpful

Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: IR-1/CR-1 Visa

- It was a pretty 'painless' process.

- There were't any long lines. The CO was a very pleasant, decent human being. Enjoyed the professionalism displyed.

- Asked several very common questions (such as "How did you meet?" What does your wife/husband do for living" etc).

- The actual interview took only about 10 minutes. 70 minutes for the whole process at the embassy.

Tips: Be prepared/organised. Bring solid evidences with you (focus on the quality not the quantity). Don't panic. Express yourself clearly. BE HONEST!

How this review helps somebody.

~ Dino | Nov 13, 2014



Register or log in to message user
Top
Sri Lanka
Review #15147 on September 6, 2014:

nbaman99

Nbaman99


Rating:

Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: IR-1/CR-1 Visa

The wait was 5 hours, no organization outside long lines. but when inside everything is good. Plan on sitting there for long long long time.

Register or log in to message user
Top
Sri Lanka
Review #13965 on February 28, 2014:

senthamarai

Senthamarai


Rating:

· 2 people found this review helpful

Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: Other Experience

For k1 visa process US embassy in Sri Lanka requires a police report (Im sure its the same for many other visa types). I received the interview notice on April 8th 2013 and the interview was scheduled for April 18th, 2013. So I had 10 days to apply for a police report. It takes at least a month to get report from police in SL. So I attended the interview on the scheduled day with a receipt from the police saying report is pending. The consular told me his decision is pending till I have my police report. I received the report on 9th of May, 2013 and handed it over to the embassy with my passport. May 16th I received email notification from consular. So, I went to the embassy and collected my passport with the visa stamped to it! ('')

(updated on February 27, 2014)

Register or log in to message user
Top
Sri Lanka
Review #13318 on November 25, 2013:

RandR2013

RandR2013


Rating:

· 2 people found this review helpful

Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: IR-1/CR-1 Visa

My husband interviewed in Colombo on November 21, 2013. His interview was scheduled for 1 pm. The embassy called him around 10 am and asked that he be at the Embassy by 12 pm. He got there at 11:55 am. They let him in around 12:05 pm.

I haven't asked him for extensive detail as to process, but I will try to make him fill this in! I hope that future interviewees in Colombo complete the reviews as there is not much information out there. The wait for the interview was not too long. I know he made an oath to tell the truth and handed in his medical report.

According to my husband, the interviewer made his feel very comfortable (but wasn't over friendly). The interviewer asked my husband the following (not sure if I got them all): (1) how long have you known your wife; (2) how/when did you meet her; (3) how did you get together (we were friends for 17 ish years before we got together); (4) do you know her family?; (5) have you visited her; (6) what does sh... read complete review

Register or log in to message user
Top
Sri Lanka
Review #7239 on March 8, 2011:

kandyratna

Kandyratna


Rating:

· 1 person found this review helpful

Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: IR-1/CR-1 Visa



(updated on March 8, 2011)

Register or log in to message user
Top
Now Showing Records 11 to 15 (of 21 total)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5   





Review Statistics: