GCChase

Question: Adjustment of Status Interview and Day-1 CPT

10 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

I did my bachelors in the US, and started working for a company using my OPT and STEM Extension. At the end of my STEM extension, my company applied for H1B, but my name did not get picked. Meanwhile, my company also applied for an EB-3 green card.

During the GC process,  I have enrolled in a college for my master's degree, and this college issued me a CPT on the day 1. 

My PERM, I-140, I-131 and I-765 are all approved. In fact, I am about to have my adjustment of status interview next week. However the day 1 CPT is making me very nervous. Has anyone have similar experience?

Thanks in advance

Edited by GCChase

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: India
Timeline

So if i am understanding correctly you have not actually attended the masters program and just enrolled in it so you could stay and work in the US until your GC gets approved? mostly fake online universities provide Day 1 CPTs and USCIS has been dealing with them pretty ruthlessly for the last couple of years, I am not aware of a single reputed school which would provide day 1 CPT. this could be a big problem  potentially since your EB3 AOS interview is through the employer. just out of curiosity why did you not leave after the stem extension OPT and wait for the EB3 process to complete outside the US, if if understand the situation correctly now you have involved yourself into a fraudulent and super risky way to extend your stay with pretty harsh consequences potentially when you already had an employer willing to sponsor you and a clear path to permanent residence lawfully.

Edited by Bajinga

4 hours ago, Bajinga said: