Samuel J

Question about Part 1 in the I 130 for Parents

10 posts in this topic

Hello guys - I'm a newbie to the forum.  I'm hoping you guys will be able to help me out with a few questions as I fill out the I 130 for my parents.

In Part 1. Relationship - of course I've checked the box in question number 1 to indicate it's for a parent.  However question # 2 is confusing me. Following is what's being asked in question  # 2:

If you are filing this petition for your child or parent, select the box that describes your relationship (Select only one box):

a)Child was born to parents who were married to each other at the time of the child's birth
  b) Stepchild/Stepparent
  c)Child was born to parents who were not married to
      each other at the time of the child's birth Child was adopted (not an Orphan or Hague
  d)Convention adoptee)

So I'll tell you they are my biological parents, so b is not applicable.  They were married when I was born, so C is also not applicable.  I wasn't adopted either, which left me with only a. Now I would gladly check option (a) except that it makes me think if this is only applicable to a US citizen filling out for their child (not parent).  

So my question is can this be left blank in this situation?  

What have you guys done? I'd really appreciate your feedback as I'm filling this out myself without an attorney's help.

Regards,

Samuel

29 minutes ago, Samuel J said:

So I'll tell you they are my biological parents, so b is not applicable.  They were married when I was born, so C is also not applicable.  I wasn't adopted either, which left me with only a.

Select option A. The reason they is ask is for people who select C for fathers: https://www.visajourney.com/content/immigration-parents/ "My father. I was born out of wedlock and legitimated" and "My father. I was born out of wedlock and was not legitimated"

29 minutes ago, Samuel J said:

as I fill out the I 130 for my parents.