taintmoun

Export Law and conditional permanent resident

2 posts in this topic

Hello, this is my first time posting. 

Currently I am a conditional permanent resident, and I am still waiting for my 90 days windows which would be Mid April to apply for I 751 (So within a month, I will be eligible to file for I751). 

Lately, I was offered a position from an employer who is compliant with US Export Law, where access to confidential information is limited, and therefore requires employers to hire US Person employees. 

Without going to specifics, this employers has a contract with Department of Defense, where the contract requires any employees to be US Persons, which is often interpreted as Green Card Holder or Citizens. 

During interview process, they asked me to bring either Green card or US Passport (or birth certificate), and specifically they noted just state driver license and social security card won't be acceptable to have interviews onsite, which may impact my employment if I dont bring acceptable documents to show I am at least permanent resident or more. When I was present onsite, the security staff took my green card and read receipt number to run whether or not the receipt is valid in their internal system (that I have no clues since I was not able to see his monitor screen), but it did seem that A-number was not enough for some reasons (because he had to read back side of my conditional green card). After clearing with my info, the security staff reminded I have roughly 5 months, and I responded I will just have to apply.