3 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

I wanted to post something new on this area to introduce myself. I'm Rhonda and I'm new on the site, just after finding it last week. I wish I had known that it existed more than a year ago. I am the American half of a this French/american couple. My fiance, Nicolas is French. We met more than 8 years ago on the internet. I know I know....that seems like a long time ago, but we had quite a journey to make first. I am a French teacher in a high school in the Midwest.....I've taught now for 25 years. This will be the second marriage for both of us.

Nicolas visited me often in the US during 2004-2005, but after a trip together to France he was refused entry at the Chicago border. He was returned the same day on the same Air France plane that we had arrived on. After coming to terms with what had happened we found an immigration lawyer who helped with the first steps of the K-1 process Everything was mailed in July 2006 which was first approved in November 2006. Nicolas received his interview appt for February 2007 and we thought we were days from being together. But I think a clerical mistake or a consulate who was having a bad day put a giant roadblock in our way. He told us to file a 601 and 212 which we labored over for weeks before mailing to Rome at the end of April. Now in the past week we've had e-mails from Rome and Paris saying that these waivers were never needed (no apologies of course). TODAY he was again at the paris embassy where he left his passport and was told that he would have it back in a few days....It's a go....he's coming back.