tealeaf

Interview, evidence of support and employment

4 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello guys,

I’m in a really tough situation. I have been terminated from my pretty well paid job December 2014. Ever since then I have been unemployed. Well, a few days ago I just got a job at a much lower pay (minimum wage). I just started whatever till I can find a job matching my bachelor degree. I am a recent college graduate. It definitely does not fulfill the requirements for the evidence of support. I still live with my parents and they have agreed to become co-sponsors of me and my fiancé.

I plan on going to the interview, which will be in Ho Chi Minh City, with my fiancé. I hope that with this really low pay and my parents co-sponsoring me and the fact that my fiancé will actually be coming to live at home with us will get her the visa. Since my job is really crappy and low paying and just started, I may not have enough if any days off to go to Vietnam for the interview. My plan is to go anyways because I honestly don’t care about this job. I’m only working it to show I’m employed.

So my question is, if I get a note from my job that I am employed (as it is required on the i-134 form) and present it to the interview will they actually check with my employer or whatever government database they have if I am employed? I will get fired for sure during my trip, I just won’t know when. If I am lucky to have some days off, I will still be employed on the day of the interview, as I will arrive there 1 day before the interview to make sure I am still employed. Will they find out that I have left this job for the interview and by the time I come back I will be unemployed again? Because of my 6 month employment gap, recent low wage employment and visit to Vietnam, will they ask me questions about my past and current employment?