MaMxUs

Filing a I-129F as US-Mex dual Citizen in Morocco living with Moroccan fiancé

3 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Morocco
Timeline

LONG post alert!

Read time: about 5 mins

Hi everyone!

Newbie here with a bunch of questions... Any insight is appreciated.

I am currently preparing to file a I-129F for my Moroccan fiancé. Let me start with the basics...

I'm the US citizen (the petitioner). I'm also a citizen of Mexico and have lived there my whole life, excepting my annual visits to my dad, who lives in WA, until I was 14. I haven't seen my US family in 10 years. The last time I saw my dad was in 2005. We don't have a close relationship (we email and talk on the phone a few times a month but the conversation doesn't get more interesting than the weather). Neither the Mexican side or the American side approve of my decision of moving to Morocco to be with my fiancé. In short, I have estranged myself from both sides of my family, who do not communicate between each other. This side of the story is important for later.

Mehdi and I met online in 2008 and become an item in late 2010.

In 2011 Mehdi decides that he should be the one to try to get over to Mexico (where I lived at the time) but failed trying to procure himself a mexican visa (he needed more months of paystubs, which he didn't have at the time). I gave up on him, thinking he was trying to use me to get out of the country. We broke it off, but got back together in 2012, when my first 3-week visit to Morocco took place.