AOD132

221(g) form given for CR1 Visa

7 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline

Hello all,

I had my interview on 20th Feb at Mumbai Consulate.

The CO started the interview with asking me about my previous profession (I am an Ex-army officer)

At that point he looked at his computer screen and immediately put back the document which stated to pay the Green Card money and its details.

I got asked very few details about the marriage and relationship and he saw just a few pictures of the wedding.

Next he took out the infamous 221(g) form and handed it over.

He said "Everything looks fine with your case sir, Just you need to fill out the details in this form".

The details asked are really stupid as they ask for funding, itinerary, "Invitation", Research etc

All of these details are already there in the I-130 (are they not reading it??)

Also I had got the 221(g) form 2 times before when I had applied for a Tourist Visa.(Assuming because I was serving in the Army then)

I asked him this time why am I getting this form again and his reply was because I had got it earlier 2 times therefore a 3rd time again.

Anyway has anybody has any such (bad) experience and what steps did you take and what is the general timeline for this AP to be done with?

Thank you everybody

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: India
Timeline

Hi there, from your posting, it appears that this time around, you're applying to migrate to the U.S. On a CR1 category green card and during the interview, you were given a 221(g) slip.

Was your passport returned back to you? What was the color of your 221(g) slip? What documents are they requesting from you (the reason they're not issuing you a CR1 visa)?

I know that when my wife went in for the interview at the Mumbai consulate, the CO asked her to provide documents that we'd already provided when we filed for I130. It's not unusual for them to ask for the documents again at the interview.