Volta-Region

Veteran seeking advice.

6 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Ghana
Timeline

I served four years in the military and did 2 tours in Iraq. After I got out of the military I took a vacation with a friend to Ghana and met a lovely woman their and got married before I came back. We now I have a beautiful daughter together who is now a U.S citizen because her report of birth abroad was approved. I just filed the i-130 petition for my wife and already finished AOS and the online visa application so we are just waiting for an interview date. Now my questions are:

1. I am a full time student at the University of Texas and live off of my GIBILL housing allowance and PTSD disability payment. I don’t have any recent tax transcript to send so I sent them my GIBILL letter and my disability payment letter which clearly states how much I get paid. I get paid well above the poverty line am just worried about not having a tax transcript. Will this be an Issue?
  2. I just sent them an email requesting for my petition to be expedited because of my PTSD. I stated that I suffer from flash back and have difficulties sleeping at night (I have Veterans Affairs documents to prove this) and that having my wife with me will greatly help me to recover and be whole again. What are my chances of getting approved for this reason?
  3. How long does it normally take to get an interview date in Accra Ghana after everything is complete?

Thank you.

I can only answer the first question since it's the most familiar to me.

You have to include a written statement explaining why you didn't file. If you weren't required to file because your housing allowance and your disability payments are nontaxable, you have to show proof from the IRS where it shows this exemption. You also have to explain how you qualify for the exemption.