scooby06

A bad Lawyer consultation

1 post in this topic

I just want to share this with you all. Hopefully you can give me some pointers and insight into this matter.

I called an Immigration lawyer in regards to my parents AOS. At first he seemed O.K telling me about how to start the process. When we got to the Affidavit of Support I explained to him that my income was below the poverty line. He then started to ask if we had any other income, savings or properties. I told him my husband is not working, but we have a house. The house, however, did not have enough in value to qualify for the needed asset. This was his responds, " How would I know what would qualify. After all I am not a lawyer ." I then explained to him that my household size is 4 , the amount of the poverty line is $27'563. Right know I make about 15'000 a year. That leaves a total of $ 15'000, I need to cover. I then multiplied that by 5 years and came to a total of $ 75'000.

His respond to this was. If I want to play Lawyer I should not bother him. My calculations are absolutely wrong and the laws regarding the affidavit of support change all the time. I don't have to multiply the reminder by 5 but only by 3. This means I only need a total of 45'000 in assets not 75'000.

I believe that over the last few weeks , I have read that USCIS lately is not even accepting properties assets any more. So for me, this was not even an important conversation. I never even had a change to tell him trough out the conversation that I have a joint sponsor.