GS_kb

Need Help (K3 Visa)

5 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: India
Timeline

Hi Everyone,

I am very new to this process. A little about myself: I am a naturalized US citizen. I recently got engaged (July 10th) when I went to India. Now I am back in the US, and I won't be able to go back to India at least until Nov-Dec. And even then, it probably won't be for more than 2 weeks. And I can go back to India only once within the next year. Now I am trying to decide whether to apply for the K1 Visa or the K3 Visa.

I have looked into K1 Visa information, and it seems that if we apply for that, then I could bring my fiancee over to the US probably in March or even April (7-8 months).

I still don't have a good handle on the K3 Visa, however. What options do I have for this visa? Would I be required to spend a certain amount of time in India before applying for it? Or is that only required if I'm doing a Direct Consular Filing? If I go the K3 route, and I get married in Dec, then when is the earliest my wife would be able to come to the US?

Any help anyone can provide is much appreciated. Even pointing me in the right direction where I can get the answers I am looking for will be greatly appreciated.

~Kartik.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline

I was in the same boat.

DCF is not an option anymore at the Delhi Consulate for most US Citizens residing in the US. In order to do DCF in Delhi, you need to be a resident of india and show income tax and employment records. Also long term indian visa is needed. Basically the delhi consulate is trying to serve US citizens who are long term residents of india unlike transient folks like you and me. :P They want all US citizens who are not residents of india to file their applications at the consulates in the US.

Effective May1st, there is no longer a duration on number of days you need to stay in India etc.