KJ79

Will I lose my permanent resident status if I go back to Canada for school?

4 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am a happy US Permanent Resident. Citizen of Canada.

I was accepted into two Universities back home in Canada and would like to finish my degree.

School starts in September so this is not enough time (I dont think) to get US Citizenship.

I would like to return back to the states when I finish my degree (or at least keep that option open) as I love my new home in Austin. Will my husband and I have to go through the whole application for spouse permanent resident again? Will it be harder the second time, since I assume they will see that I have "abandoned" my permanent resident status?

My husband is a US citizen, we did the whole fiance visa process 3 and half years ago. He is currently studying in Canada also, as an International student on a student visa.

Does anyone know of any options here, or have you gone through the same thing? Posting in the perm resident forum too, not sure where this post belongs.

Thanks!

-KJ

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Australia
Timeline
School starts in September so this is not enough time (I dont think) to get US Citizenship.

Are you currently eligible to apply for citizenship? If so, I would consider applying immediately - you have 5 months - depending on your local office, this may be enough time.