Fatpossum

Health Insurance - Complete Novice

2 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: England
Timeline

Hi Guys,

I know, from looking at other posts, that health insurance is a topic that has been discussed time and time again so sorry to add to the pile but I am getting a little confused!

I am flying out to Mississippi in a couple of weeks and was originally planning on getting some temporary health insurance for a month or so until I got on to my fiancee's plan. However, Nikki's new job does not offer a family plan (its only a small independent book shop). So now it looks like I will have to get my own private plan until I get a job that offers insurance (I am planning on eventually getting a job with the local university as I know a few people there and hear that colleges, in general, offer good healthcare benefits, however, I'm a bit scared of applying for a "proper" full time on my 90 day work visa in case it expires before I get my EAD).

The only trouble is I basically have no idea what I am looking for, what coverage I need, what is a good price (they all look bloody expensive)....I don't even know what a deductable is! Could anyone give me an idiot proof guide to the healthcare system and suggest any decent companies in Mississippi?

I know Lansbury, in another post suggested this as a short term method:

"If you just want it for a short time it might be worth considering just getting insurance that covers emergency and hospital treatment and pay for any visits to the doctors office yourself. That would be cheaper if you are fit and well.

My niece used to sell medical insurance and I remember her saying that sort of policy was about 50% cheaper than buying full cover."

This seems like it could be a decent idea as I rarely get ill but, sods law, I'll break my leg, slip on some soap or catch pneumonia the minute I get out there.