Michael Musica

Paris - visa renewal by mail - Consular Section fax or other number

1 post in this topic

Filed: Timeline

I am an American manager of musicians from France who perform in the U.S. A group of four musicians is returning to the U.S. to perform in January 2015. I have obtained USCIS approval for an O-1 for the band leader, and for an O-2 for the members of the band. All of them have received these visa classifications in the past. Two musicians live in Paris, two in southern France.

We noticed on the Paris embassy website that we can apply for a visa by mail, instead of coming to the Consular Section of the embassy for an interview, provided that criteria are met. So that we don't have to pay to fly two people from southern France to Paris for a 3-minute "interview," this seemed like a great option. The page in English and then in French are here:

http://france.usembassy.gov/renewbymail.html

http://french.france.usembassy.gov/renouvelerparcourrier.html

Each musician used the Visa-Reissue Wizard to see if he was eligible for visa renewal by mail. For all of them, the answer was "yes." You will also notice that the embassy says that it "strongly encourages" the renewal of visas by mail for those who are eligible. The language is on these pages (English followed by French).

http://france.usembassy.gov/non-immigrant_visas.html

http://french.france.usembassy.gov/non-immigrant.html

The musicians followed the DS-160 process. At the end of the DS-160, they tried to pay the visa application fee via credit card, but the website would not accept credit card payment. Finally, each of them managed to pay via bank wire.

An email confirming payment of the visa application eventually was delivered to each musician with instructions to go to the website, ais.usvisa-info.com/en-FR/niv/users/sign_in, and to follow the instructions there.