echang03

Complicated Situation

4 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hey everyone, my name is Eric and I'm currently a college student in New York City.

I applied to citizenship in November, and I'm scheduled for an interview in early May. I was originally planning to get my citizenship before the summer and spend the summer in Taiwan and study abroad in Shanghai for the fall semester. However, a mailing situation came up in February and I missed my interview (hence it is now rescheduled to early May). Because of this mailing situation, I'm not going to finish my citizenship process before the summer. So I thought I could interview in May, go back to Taiwan on 6/1 for 2 months, and then do the oath when I come back. This case I would have to give up studying abroad next semester.

However, next semester is really the only semester which I can study abroad, and I was thinking if this could logistically work.

Interview in May

Fly back to Taiwan on 6/1 with my Taiwanese passport

Fly to Shanghai for study abroad on 9/1 with my Taiwanese documents

(hopefully schedule my oath around October-ish or anytime in the Fall) My address is with my cousin so there will be no mailing issues

Fly back to New York, do the oath, expedited passport service, and my physical presence will still be satisfied.

Fly back to Shanghai with new American passport.

Can someone please go over this and see if this is possible?

Thank you SO much

Eric

Edited by echang03

Hey everyone, my name is Eric and I'm currently a college student in New York City.