HollyC

Peruvian living in Japan

4 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hi everyone. I am from the US but my fiance is from Peru, but is a resident of Japan. When we apply for the K1 visa, does he have to go back to Peru or can he apply from Japan? Does anyone know? I am very new to this whole thing and there are so many things to do. Any advice would be so greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Filed: Country: United Kingdom
Timeline
Hi everyone. I am from the US but my fiance is from Peru, but is a resident of Japan. When we apply for the K1 visa, does he have to go back to Peru or can he apply from Japan? Does anyone know? I am very new to this whole thing and there are so many things to do. Any advice would be so greatly appreciated. Thanks!

If he has long term permission to stay in Japan and wants to, Tokyo will probably accept his case.

If he's staying in Japan and you can go there, you can investigate DCF (see the Guides) and look at getting married and filing from there--Japan is one of the few countries that do not require the USC to be resident there to file.

When it is all so new, your best bet is to slow down, read a lot and don't make a move for a couple of weeks until you understand all the particulars of the different methods.

Have fun! :)

Now That You Are A Permanent Resident

How Do I Remove The Conditions On Permanent Residence Based On Marriage?

Welcome to the United States: A Guide For New Immigrants

Yes, even this last one.. stuff in there that not even your USC knows.....

Here are more links that I love:

Arriving in America, The POE Drill

Dual Citizenship FAQ

Other Fora I Post To:

alt.visa.us.marriage-based http://britishexpats.com/ and www.***removed***.com

censored link = *family based immigration* website

Inertia. Is that the Greek god of 'can't be bothered'?

Met, married, immigrated, naturalized.

I-130 filed Aug02

USC Jul06

No Deje Piedras Sobre El Pavimento!

Filed: Timeline