tetlee

Border experience of fiance's long visit to the UK

7 posts in this topic

Hey, I thought I'd share our experience on this

We are in the process of filling for the K1 and couldnt stand to be apart ...you know how it is

As my Fiance is out of work we decided she may as well come stay with me in Nottingham whilst we wait.

We booked her return flight for late March so she'd be here for 5 months, so we expected some extra questions to be asked at immigration.

She flew direct from Phoenix to Heathrow, and sure enough was stopped at immigration for some extra questions once they ascertained how long she'd be coming for.

We had printed out her return ticket and a copy of the K1 packet we'd submitted.

He looked at it all, not thoroughly but it appeared to count in her favour.

He asked all the questions you'd expect; why are you coming for so long, where are you staying, what I did for a living. Nothing challenging that sticks out.

He then asked for my phone number and called me.

That followed a similar line, "are you expecting someone into the country?", then all the same questions he'd asked her.

At the end of our conversation he told me, that was all good and she'd be through shortly.

All in all, nerve racking but straight forward

All the best and happy Christmas!

Ohh yeah, not sure why what I do for a living was important but for the record I'm a Computer Programmer

It would have either have been to see that you have a job at all (to check you can support a visitor for that long) or just a quiz question to see if you answered the same (to check if she was being truthful and really knew you well).

* I-130/CR-1 visa by Direct Consular Filing in London
3rd May 2013 - Married in London

7th May 2013 - I-130 filed
4th June 2013 - NOA2 (approved)
16th July 2013 - Interview (approved)
30th July 2013 - POE San Francisco
29th August 2013 - 2 year green card arrived

* How? Read my DCF London I-130 for CR1/IR1 Spouse Guide