Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'review'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Family & Marriage Based US Visa Immigration Discussion
    • K-1 Fiance(e) Visa Process & Procedures
    • IR-1 / CR-1 Spouse Visa Process & Procedures
    • Direct Consular Filing (DCF) General Discussion
    • Bringing Family Members of US Citizens to America
    • Bringing Family Members of Permanent Residents to America
    • What Visa Do I Need - Family Based Immigration
  • Non-Family Based US Visa Discussion
    • Tourist Visas
    • Work Visas
    • Student & Exchange Visitor Visas
    • Diversity Lottery Visas
    • Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)
  • Consulate & USCIS Service Center Discussion
    • National Visa Center (Dept of State)
    • US Embassy and Consulate Discussion
    • Waivers (I-601 and I-212) and Administrative Processes (221g)
    • USCIS Service Centers
  • US Visa Holder and Permanent Resident Immigration Discussion
    • Adjustment of Status (Green Card) from K1 and K3 Family Based Visas
    • Adjustment of Status from Work, Student, & Tourist Visas
    • Working & Traveling During US Immigration
    • Tax & Finances During US Immigration
    • Removing Conditions on Residency General Discussion
    • US Citizenship General Discussion
    • Effects of Major Family Changes on Immigration Benefits
    • Military Immigration-Related Discussion
    • General Immigration-Related Discussion
  • General Discussion Area
    • Off Topic
    • Games While You Wait
    • Regional Discussion
    • Moving to the US and Your New Life In America
    • Finding Work in America
    • Emigrating Outside the US
    • Current Events and Hot Social Topics
    • Introducing our Members
    • General Polls
    • US Immigration News and Discussion
    • Site-Related Discussion - Updates, Ideas, etc.
  • Moderator and Organizer Forums (Hidden)

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End



Location

miles from

Is online?


Has photo?


Content Count

Between and

Last Visit

Between and

City


Interests


Immigration Status


Place benefits filed at


Local Office


Country


Our Story

Found 12 results

  1. Hi Friends, So my fiance was given a white 221g with administrative processing marked on it. His passport was also kept. I emailed the Islamabad embassy asking them why he wasnt issued a visa. I got a reply back from them today. This is the reply:Dear Sir/Madam, Our records indicate that this case is in its final review. Please feel free to check back with our office after four weeks. So guys should i consider this a good sign? They didnt write the usual its in AP so just wait for it response. Plz give any feedback you guys might have!
  2. Hello there, fellow Italian applicants! I am the beneficiary of a K1 Visa submitted by my future husband, who is American. I am Italian-Canadian, born and raised in Italy. On March 14th, 2018 my Visa was finally approved. I now understand the full meaning the name of this website carries, it is indeed a journey. Throughout the process I decided to document my entire experience with the intention of posting it once it would be over, hoping that it might be useful to all those people who will be interviewed at Consulate in Napoli (or Naples). Perhaps most of the information will sound redundant or obvious, just keep in mind that I wrote every step in detail as it was happening, wishing to have a similar report to quiet my most trivial doubts (SPOILER: there will be MANY trivial doubts, just never feel stupid to ask). This website has been our most used guide. However, I suggest you always follow the instructions you are given as a primary source. There is nothing hidden, everything is pretty straightforward. I hope that sharing my experience could help you and serve you as a general reference, nothing more than that. Every case is different. Anyway, here’s what happened: We decided to get married in May 2017. After doing our research, we decided to go through the K1 Visa process without the assistance of a lawyer. I-129 F PACKAGE We filed our I-129F form and sent the package at the end of June 2017. Our I-129F package contained: - e-Notification of Application/Petition Acceptance, which you can use to keep track of the status of your application. I highly recommend anyone to file it, they will send you a Receipt Number and your Case Status will be easily kept under control. - Completed Form I-129F, Petition for Alien Fiancé(e) - Declaration of How We Met, written and signed by my future husband, the petitioner, in which he stated the day we met and provided some additional details about our relationship, such as the days we met each other’s parents and relatives, the trips we took together, how we keep in touch when we are apart, etc. It is a very personal statement, so feel free to compose it according to you own experience. The declaration is an extended point from the I-129F form, part 2, item number 54, that we decided to expand in a separate paper to provide further details. On the form, my fiancé wrote “Please read attached declaration”. - Both Letters of intent to Marry within 90 days of entry; we wrote and signed one letter each. - Passport copies - The petitioner’s birth certificate - The beneficiary’s most recent I-94, to show all my past entrances in the United States. You can get it for free on the USCIS website, after submitting your passport number. I also included copies of expired passport pages with stamps. - EVIDENCE OF RELATIONSHIP, for which I provided 8 photos of us in various situations (photos of just the two of us, photos with our families, etc); receipts of airplane tickets we took together; receipts of hotel stays and various tickets. I would suggest you to gather as much evidence as possible, and it’s totally up to you to evaluate how much material to send to USCIS. We felt we wanted to be safe, and we submitted anything official that had both our names. In the package I also decided to include a personal statement in which I informed USCIS about my dual citizenship. I am Italian and Canadian. I was born in Italy and I’ve always resided there, so I applied to the K1 Visa as an Italian citizen, but I’ve always used my Canadian passport to travel and I felt it was safer and nicer to explain it, in case anything would come up. I included copies of both my passports. I’m informing you about this just to suggest you to provide all the information you can about yourself from the very first step, to avoid delays in the process. As a matter of fact, it did come up during the interview, but did not constitute any setback. The package that we sent was a regular folder that we organized in sections. We also put a list on the first page to recap all the documents that we were submitting. MAKE A COPY OF THE WHOLE I-129F PACKAGE BEFORE SENDING IT AND KEEP IT FOR ANY FUTURE REFERENCE. Actually, what I did was updating the original folder as we moved on with the procedure, adding a new section each time there was progress. On the interview date I arrived at the Consulate with this massive (but very organized ) creation that contained every single page, notification, document submitted. It helped me to keep everything under control, as you will often need to check, double check, triple check. NOA1 - July 5th 2017 We received our NOA1 on June 5th 2017, about a week after sending our petition. We received one copy in the mail and we also got a notification by email. I made a copy of the NOA1 and placed it in a new section the folder. Visiting your SO during the wait: After receiving our NOA1, the longest wait of our life started. I visited my fiancé in the United States for a few months and we did most of the wait together, so I can’t really complain about the distance, but not a day went by without checking our status. If you wish to visit your SO during the wait and travel with your Italian passport, make sure you have a valid ESTA before you start the I-129F. It is indeed possible to visit, but remember that there is always the chance of being denied by a POE officer. As for my experience, I had the possibility to travel with my Canadian passport, which allows a 6 months B2 Visitor Visa. I spent 5 months in the United States, from the end of September 2017 to February 2018, because I was a non working student and I had the chance to go. I took the time I had to write my final thesis and be with my man. We were together when we received our NOA2 and my return ticket was shortly after that. During the interview I was legitimately asked questions about my frequent long stays, but because I have always been meticulous with my dates and in good faith about my travels, it didn’t raise any red flags. The website to track the status of your petition is: https://egov.uscis.gov/casestatus/mycasestatus.do You will need to enter the Receipt Number written on your NOA1. NOA2 - 18 Jan 2018 Our I-129F petition was approved in 197 days, with no RFEs. On January 18th 2018, we finally received our NOA2 in the mail. It was a moment of great joy, and things definitely moved super fast for us after that. I made a copy of the NOA2 and put it in the folder. At this point, you could start gathering the documents of Packet3, if you plan to schedule your interview as soon as possible. Do not start gathering documents before you receive your NOA2, as most of them have an expiration date of 6 months. NVC NOTICE - Case sent to Naples, Italy - 06 Feb 2018 On February 6th, 2018, my fiancé received NOTICE FROM NVC, which includes your CASE NUMBER that you will need to use when filing the DS-160. The notice also informed us that our case had been sent to the Consulate in Naples. PACKET3 - 08 Feb 2018 On February 8th 2018, my fiancé received an email from IVNAPLES@STATE.GOV, notifying us that they had received our petition. In the same email they attached the Packet3, containing all the instructions for the interview and the medical examination. I immediately started to prepare and gather all the documentation required for the day of the interview. You won’t have to send anything to the Consulate, you just collect everything and present it on the day of the interview. The instructions also tell you how to book your interview once you have everything in hand, and pay the $265 fee. The medical fee is €220, and the visit will be automatically scheduled by the Consulate for the day before your interview date. REMEMBER TO GATHER EVERYTHING IN DOUBLE COPY. On the interview day, you will be asked to provide everything in duplicate evidence, and at the end they will give you back either the original or the copy of each document. This is what I had to do and what applied to my case, but there may be additional requirements if you need to present divorce certificates, if you were in the military, if you were adopted, if you lived in other countries than Italy for more than 6 months, etc. I happen to have never been married before, have never lived in other countries for more than 6 months, have no children, have never been in the military, was never arrested or have never had problems with the law, thus: - I completed the DS-160 ONLINE NONIMMIGRATION FORM, and printed the confirmation receipt. You will need the CASE NUMBER provided in the NVC notice, and after submitting the form you will be able to track the status of your case on the CEAC platform (https://ceac.state.gov/ceacstattracker/status.aspx). NB: When you check your status, remember to select “IMMIGRATION VISA (IV)” from the list of the Visa Application Type. Although the K1 Visa is a “non-immigrant” type, the tracking will only work if you select IV. I guess this depends on the fact that your nonimmigrant status will be extremely temporary, just the 90 days window to get married. - I requested my CERTIFICATO DI NASCITA at my Comune di residenza, and made an authenticated copy of it. I was also requested to gather the birth certificate of my fiancé again. - I requested my CERTIFICATO DEI CARICHI PENDENTI and CERTIFICATO GENERALE DEL CASELLARIO GIUDIZIALE at the Tribunale of my city. They need a stamp (marca da bollo) of €19,84 each, and I made an authenticated copy for both. I made authenticated copies at my Comune di residenza, and paid €2,5 each. - I re-printed a new I-94, because I travelled to the United Stated during the process - I took 6 American passport photos for the interview - My fiancé completed the I-134 Affidavit of Support Form and provided evidence of support, such as a letter from his employer, two pay stubs, his W2, a statement from his bank. Remember to verify if you need a co-sponsor by checking the income guidelines. - I printed my fiancé’s passport copy again - EVIDENCE OF RELATIONSHIP: I gathered 26 new photos and submitted other additional evidence, including new airplane ticket receipts and anything else we had. Then I had to verify that I had all the vaccinations required. I went to the Italian ASL and requested a new LIBRETTO DELLE VACCINAZIONI and CERTIFICATO DELLE VACCINAZIONI. I also had two shots that I had missing for free. I would recommend to do the same to any Italian applicant, because otherwise you will have to pay for them on the day of the medical exam and the fees are not exactly cheap. One of the vaccinations required is the Measles-Mumps-Rubella (the Italian TRIVALENTE). Since I had mine done privately during the ‘90s (it wasn’t mandatory in Italy back then), I had no proof of my immunization, so my medico di base suggested me to get IGG blood tests, which will tell you if you need to get the shot again. I was able to obtain all these documents in 10-12 days. On February 26th, 2018 I scheduled my interview for March 14th, 2018 and paid the $265 fee on the website indicated on Packet3, (https://ais.usvisa-info.com/). You will need to access the platform through “IMMIGRANT VISA APPLICANT”. You won’t be able to complete this step unless your case is marked as “Ready” on the CEAC platform, so if you have any problems just wait a couple of days. I was actually able to book the interview only two days after my case was marked as “Ready”. I guess there was some processing from the Consulate in the middle of the way. I paid an additional fee of €30 for a DHL courier service that will deliver my passport at my residence. There are several options for the delivery/pick-up of the passport once the Visa is issued. You could either pick it up at the Embassy, at a selected DHL facility, or have it sent to you. The website only accepts payment with debit cards, Visa and Mastercard. MEDICAL VISIT Istituto Diagnostico Varelli - March 13th 2018 The Varelli medical clinic is located quite far from the city center, although it doesn’t take long to reach by car. The instructions of the Consulate suggest you to get there by 8AM. I arrived there at 7AM and I already had 5 people in front of me, already waiting. I highly recommend to get there early as well, as you will have to re-do the same line each time for each part of the visit (blood test, urine test, X-rays, vaccine examination, general visit) I took a ticket number from the C (Consulate) button of the machine and waited in line. A woman at front desk called my number and took my passport. They will keep your passport until the end of the whole procedure. I signed a document and they sent me to a new waiting room, where shortly after I was called for blood and urine test. They need these tests to check you don’t have gonorrhea and syphilis. After that, I was sent to another floor, where I waited in line in a very narrow space, to talk about my immunization records and provide personal information. Two people were sitting behind desks taking care of this step. They were talking without any discretion. I could hear what the missing vaccines of other people were, where they were going to live in the United States, and all of the personal information asked. I didn’t like that. When my turn came, I provided my Italian address, my future American address, email, phone number and I had to give them my vaccination certificate and 4 photographs. I came prepared and I had every vaccine needed for immigration purposes. I gave them Italian style document photos and they accepted them, but warned me that the Consulate would only accept American style ones. I paid €220 and I was sent back upstairs, where I started a new line to get the X-rays done. After that, I was sent downstairs again, started a new line, and waited for the final medical visit, where they registered my weight and height, measured my blood pressure, checked my lungs and sight, made me complete a questionnaire of my medical history. After that, I was free to leave. They informed me that the Consulate would give me my results. Overall, I wasn’t impressed by the experience. The structure could improve its organization, but everyone was kind and informative. I personally feel that €220 is an overpriced fee for what you get. INTERVIEW - March 14th, 2018 - Approved! I arrived at the Consulate half an hour early, and passed the airport style security. I had to leave my phone and was given a number and a visitor pass. Once upstairs, two young ladies at a welcome desk made sure I had all the documents, took the originals and the copies, put them in their own order and gave them back to me. They were kind and informative. I sat and waited in a spacious room. There are booths where you will interact with consuls and functionaries though a glass window, standing. My interview took place in two steps. Step 1: my number was called from one of the booths. I walked there and I talked to an Italian woman, who took all my documents, examined them, and asked me a few questions about my fiancé and I. The documents were: passport, DS-160 receipt, interview and payment receipt, my birth certificate, my fiancé’s birth certificate, my fiancé’s passport copy, my police certificate, Affidavit of Support with the supporting evidence (letter from employer, pay stubs, tax documents, statement from bank), 2 American passport photos. The questions were about where my fiancé is from, what he does for a living, what I do for a living, if we had already made plans for the wedding, and confirmed our future home address. She organized all my documents in an open hardcopy file with our names, where they have the approved I-129F and all the previous documents submitted, took my fingerprints, gave me an envelope containing the results of my medical visit, and sent me back to the waiting area, informing me that I would shortly be called for the final phase of the interview. You will need to take the medical exam results with you when you will travel to the US with your new Visa. Step 2: my number was called again from a different booth, where the consul was waiting for the final interview. Upon arriving, I was asked if I preferred to speak in English or Italian, swore to tell the truth, and the interview began. The questions were different this time, more specific and detailed, asked in rapid fire. I guess each experience varies according to your own case and situation. What is important is to provide all the information truthfully and clearly, they are legitimately serious about your immigration petition and need to make sure you are too. Although it was a nerve-racking experience, I cannot write this review without expressing my appreciation for the way it is conducted. The CO who interviewed me was very formal. She listened carefully to my answers, insisting on various points when she needed more information. I was asked about 20-25 questions about my background, my family background, my fiancé’s family background, where, when and how we met, how old he is, where he was at the time of the interview, when was the last time we had heard from each other, how often we hear from each other, how we are going to arrange our wedding, what our respective families think of each other, requested quite detailed information about my fiancé’s family members, about how many times I had been to the United States, and since each time I went I did long stays, she wanted to know exactly my dates of entry and exits. I said that I had provided a I-94 to further document my travels and asked if she’d like to see it, and she replied that she preferred to hear it from me. After the interrogation, she concluded telling me that she was going to approve my K1 Visa and reminded me about the 90 days. I asked if I needed any proof of approval and she replied that I just have to wait for my passport to be delivered at home with the sealed Visa package which you must not open. My evidence of relationship wasn’t requested at all, let alone looked at. MY BEST ADVICE: Most of the interviews that take place at the Naples Consulate are generally reviewed to be shorter than mine has been, with less and more generic questions. I didn’t know what to expect and I was prepared to any possibility. I am happy about how it went. Do not take the questions I was asked as a reference. Actually, do not take any question of any review as a reference, or at least not to the point where you use them to prepare for the interview. They will have questions for you, and you will have answers for them. It could be about things you expect more, or things you expect less. To each their own. Just make the exchange worth all the sacrifices you’ve done to get to this final step, and everything will end smoothly. After all, you want to be there to prove you agree to play by the rules and to confirm the consistency of all the information you have submitted. Obvious tips that never get old enough: - Be confident. The interview can indeed get arduous, but as long as you are there in bona fide and with all the documents in the right place, there is no need to feel intimidated. They will understand you being nervous, so just worry about the accuracy of your answers and ignore that vocal tremor of yours. - Arrive early. - Smile! It’s the final step of your long awaited process. You will be married soon! AFTER THE INTERVIEW After the approval on March 14th, my CEAC case changed to “Administrative Processing”, and switched to “Issued” on March 16th. That’s when I knew my Visa was finally being printed and sent to me. Do not panic when you read that the Administrative Processing may take up to several weeks. If you were told your case was approved, it just means they are doing their final reviews and printing the super cool Visa on your passport. Here’s a recap of the fees: I-129F fee: $535 Embassy fee: $265 DHL fee: €30 (optional) Medical fee: €220 Marca da Bollo for “Certificato dei Carichi Pendenti” e “Certificato Generale del Casellario Giudiziale”: €39.68 That’s all, FOR NOW! Good luck to you all!
  3. Help !! So, I'm a bit concerned. I got a call a few minutes ago from the hospital I did my medical at. They stated that my medical will not be sent in time for the interview and that I need to come in to review the medical with the doctor. I asked if something is wrong and they said nothing detrimental. I'm not sure if I should be worried or not.. I'm thinking of changing the interview date. What could possibly be wrong? Thoughts??
  4. I just finished submitting all my documents ONLINE at the CEAC site this morning Dec. 2, 2018. How long will it take them to review and close my case?
  5. Hey! I stressed before the medical and reading reviews helped a lot so thought I'd write one out of my time there!! I had never had a full check up by a GP before so sorry if this is over detailed for some but I didn't know what to expect so maybe it'll help some other 20-something who has no idea! Appointment was for 11.30AM. I arrived at 11AM and was asked to take a seat in the waiting room. 11.25AM they called me up, asked me to hand over my passport, 4x passport sized photos (i had US standards), my ACRO, my letter from NVC (mine was an email correspondence, this was fine), my GP patient summary and my vaccinations (I brought along my red baby book but they didn't need it). They asked if I needed photocopies of anything, I had also brought along my own photocopies of the docs but they just did it there. Handed a urine sample bottle and a form to fill out, I asked where to give back the urine sample and its to the reception desk Once I had completed the urine sample and form and handed it to reception I got called in straight away to do my X-rays (around 11.35). Quick and easy, asked to tie my hair up, I had a hair tie but if you don't there is one there for use and/or a clip. Remove top, bra and necklace and put on a gown. The lady doing it didn't comment on how the X-ray was but I got to see it which was fun. Went back to the waiting room, 5 minute wait to see the Doctor. She was so nice and reassuring!! We signed a couple of papers and my passport photo with form. Checked everything was right with form I had filled out (I had had outpatient surgery at a hospital, she said this didn't count as hospitalization, also i marked that I'd had a cough or fever because I thought it meant like...ever in my life, turns out it's more for chronic cough or fever so she changed that) She checked my BP with the machine, I told her my heart rate usually shows up fast on these and I have to do them twice normally because I get nervous. First time was a little fast but okay for what they wanted she said Weigh in and Height check Then she got me to read the eye chart Sat on the bed and she checked my eyes, ears and throat. Took off all clothes bar underwear and put the gown back on (optional?? at least thats what she said 😅 I was more comfortable with the gown). She checked my heart, again nervous and a little fast but fine, she was jokey about it. Lungs and abdomen check and rotated my limbs a little. Then my reflexes. Time for my bloods - easy peasy, no fainting and my veins are nice and fat so very quick/one try. Arm aches now though We talked a little throughout the whole thing, she said that they only ever see the short side of the visa process but she knows they can take forever, she also had no idea what visa I was traveling on which I didn't expect! Didn't need to see the nurse for Vacs because I was all up to date, waited for 5/10 mins in the waiting room, paid up, received my vaccination record for AOS and was on my way! Was told it's taking about 5/7 days for them to receive results from blood and urine and to send them to the embassy and that i'll only hear something if there's a problem. All in all a good experience, friendly and not stressful at all. About an hour in total spent there. Plus its in a really good area if you want to grab something to eat before/after or a bottle of water to help with the urine sample!! Hope this helps someone!! I think that's everything...also hope this is in the right place!...Count down to my interview next!! EDIT: Also she noticed I had a tattoo and asked my how many I had and where they were located, I guess she had to mark this down somewhere but I didn't see where!
  6. LeesaMarie

    K1 VISA Issued! :)

    Hi all, I had my Interview last Friday, but my medical had not yet been received by the embassy. I was expecting my case to be in AP for a couple weeks, so held off on writing anything as I didn't want to tempt fate. I curiously checked my status today and my VISA status says "Issued". I just wanted to say a big thank you to everyone who's helped me with my questions, and the overall support from everyone. The uncertainty has been stressful as I didn't have a clear cut case, but with persistence and preparedness, and reading over everyone else's reviews and experiences, I've managed to come out of the other end of this process. I can now start thinking about my future and all of the next steps! Interview 10/08/18 We walked outside the embassy and waited 'til around 15 minutes before my appointment time. They ask for your DS-160 at the door and your passport. This is to get into the first building where you go through airport style scanner. Once you get through that part you can exit this little building and walk up to the main building. There were no queues so we could walk straight inside (though we waited a minute as we thought we had to be let in - we didn't). Then there's a lady at the reception that gives you your number (she was a bit rude / grumpy), and tells you to go to the lifts and go to the 1st floor (it's all printed on the sticker she puts on your DS-160, so don't worry if you forget what she says). Then you go up and walk to your designated place. When your number is called they will greet you nicely, and ask you for all of your docs including the affidavit. He did ask me for Tax returns but I thought I only needed W2's. He said they are less concerned about that with the K1's, and accepted the W2s with the employment letter. You'll also do your fingerprints at this point. It's like a little post office kiosk window type deal. Then you'll sit back down in the same area and wait to be called again by someone else. My number came up and she asked me to take an oath, scanned my fingers again I believe. Asked me how we met, where we planned to live, and if I'd lived in any other countries. I swear she only asked me those 3 questions. Annnnd then I was so excited when she said approved pending medical that I kind of doubled forward and hit my head off the counter They are very calm, and nice. The first guy talked to my fiance about football and stuff lol. I wish there were more things to report! The longest part was waiting between the handing over documents, and then the interview part. I was not asked for any photocopies I provided the following: DS-160 Birth Certificate (this was handed back to me) Passport ARCo 1 US style passport photograph Affidavit of Support with W2's (5 years) and employment letter - as noted above it seems they just expect the affidavit and tax returns, but for K1's what I had was just fine. For anyone reading that hasn't followed my little journey, I had to go through a lot with regards to mental health and my medical. If anyone has any questions please feel free to message me! Good luck to the rest of you with up and coming appointments!
  7. Aker

    Montreal Interview Review

    My Interview happened on Sept. 6th. in Montreal Canada. I had read other reviews which were very helpful. I had to pick up my Medical package from Medysis the day of my interview. Medysis opens around 6:50am. If you have to pick up your medical the day of your interview, GO EARLY! By the time I walked to the consulate from Medysis, it was approx. 7:15 and there were already people lined up. ENTRANCE You will wait in line outside until a guard comes out and asks everyone to have the "interview appt. letter" and passport ready. You enter the entrance of the building, and wait for a person at a podium to enter details of your passport and interview information into the system, places a sticker on your passport and directs you to the security area. They also give you a plasticised paper, asking you to sort out your documents in a certain order when you get upstairs. This will have a number on it. I was number 10. PLEASE NOTE- it doesn't really matter what time your interview time is, it is basically first come first serve. So GO EARLY!! SECURITY ***Please note: no food or drinks are allowed. No electronics are allowed. If you bring your phone- they will give you a ticket stub to pick it up later. Your items go through x-ray. I forgot I had a USB stick and a small mini power bank in my purse. They just wanted to know what it was, but allowed me to keep it. Once through security, you go downstairs to the elevator. If you have forgotten to bring passport sized photos with you, there is a little photo booth that charges $10 for the two photos you have to submit. Alternatively, if you remember to get photos the day before, there is a Pharma Prix (Shopper's Drug Mart) at the corner of St. Catherine Street and St. Alexandre (near the consulate) where you can get passport photos. You go up the elevator to floor 19 (the only floor you are allowed to go to) and then enter a large room filled with chairs. There are bathrooms, and two vending machines (very sparse). If you are diabetic, I believe you can bring in food. I had food and the security guard asked if I was diabetic (which I am not) So I expect you would be allowed as the 'food' upstairs is junk food in a vending machine. Then you wait.......and arrange your papers. This is what they asked us for: DOCUMENT LIST 1- Passport (remember to take a photocopy of the biographic page- it does not have to be in colour) 2. Medical package (do not open this package) Also, if you are wondering, you get to keep your x-ray on CD, and a copy of your immunization records. I believe you will need this further down the road but cannot comment on when yet. 3. Long Form Birth certificate (and make a copy as well). I have heard others on here not have their long form certificate and it was accepted, but if you need your long form, you can order it online through service canada (https://www.ontario.ca/page/get-or-replace-ontario-birth-certificate) 4. Petitioners Affidavit of Support- for K1 Fiance Visa this is the I-134. You also need the petitioners most recent Taxes, and I believe you need the W2 as well. I submitted it, but I am not sure i had to have it. 5. Police Records check. In Canada, I have had to have several police records checks for my work in healthcare. I have always had a physical seal imprinted on my certificates. This is the first time I ordered one when it was available online. It did not have a physical seal. I thought this might be an issue. It was not. 6. Petitioners Intent letter. VERY IMPORTANT- this letter must be dated within 30 days of your interview date. 7. Two passport photos (U.S. sized photos, are different than Canadian) 8. Appt. letter with proof of payment- this will be the printed appointment letter, it will say the fee was paid. This is all I needed. If you haven't paid your fee online, you can pay in person at the cashier's window in that large room. You can do this once you have been called up to see your paperwork. I do not believe this delays you during the day. The person before me had to do this, and he was still on time to being called for his interview before me. Please keep in mind, this is the paperwork they asked for that day, but you still should have all of your paperwork that is required in Packet 3/4. They may ask for all of it. But they did not the day of my interview. So, you wait to be called. As number 10, I waited about 1 hour 15 minutes for my turn. My interview time was 7:30 which is the earliest. The first people in line I believe were done the whole process in and hour and a half. My whole process as being # 10, from start to finish was 2 hours. So the earlier you go, the less time it will take. When I left at 09:30, there were people with #35 seated who had appt. times at 09:00. Just to give you a reference of how many people are interviewed. And I don't know how many after I left. CALLED TO FIRST WINDOW Once you are called to a Window (#1-5) they are very friendly, ask you for your paperwork, confirm details etc. If you forgot to get photocopies, they will allow you to have them, BUT, you have to pay $1 each. You will have to go to the cashiers Window, pay for the photocopies, grab the receipt, and then go back to the window you were at. So don't waste time, Bring photocopies! They will ask you questions like if you have ever been in trouble with the law, if you have every been married etc. They also take your digital fingerprints. This process took less than 10 minutes. Then you wait again...... Windows 6-12 are the interview windows. Some people were being called to window #19- and were called by name. Still can't figure out what people did when they were there. You do see people coming out of the interview area with big smiles on their faces which is really nice to see. INTERVIEW WINDOW I was called to window 7. This is where the interview happens. You stand there for about 5 minutes, being asked questions. You don't even realize the interview was happening. Questions I got asked: A. Have you ever been married B. Have you ever had trouble with the law (this does not include parking tickets, speeding tickets, littering tickets etc.) C. Have you ever lived outside of Canada D. What does your fiancee do for a living E. Where does your fiancee live F. Does your fiancee live along G. How did you and your fiancee meet ( I told them we met in 2003) H. What happened from 2003 until now I. Have I signed up for the courier to return my passport Then the officer said "Well the interview just happened" and proceeded to ask me to swear in, using my fingerprints while I decree that everything in my application was truthful etc. She give me paperwork (pink and white sheet) with instructions on how to get my passport, expected arrival time etc. And some other documentation. And that was it. I had to ask if I was approved, I was, but I needed to hear those words. Very anticlimactic but thrilled that it was that easy. A few comments I had head from other people in the waiting area- some people were worried that they would be asked about when their wedding was, what point of entry they were going to use, the date they were entering the U.S. I d not know if anyone got asked these questions. I was prepared with EVERYTHING. I am glad I didn't have to use everything I had, but I didn't leave anything to chance. I was an excellent experience, and I wish you all the best! (search for my Medical in Montreal Review)
  8. Hi... Just a little info about my case... First i filed for an i130 and it was approved i received a letter stating your case was approved, but the issue was someone at the USCIS said i put my wife as, was in the US. So i had to file an i824 to have them send the approval to the NVC and then to a consulate. It was approved the i824 and i received a letter saying they sent a copy to the NVC. It took them 3 months to say they found it (because the NVC told me after 45 days they didn't receive anything). So now after all that waiting now i notice an update on the USCIS stating this: "On December 20, 2017, the Department of State sent us your case, Receipt Number SRCXXXXXXXXX, for review. We are reviewing it, and will notify you by mail when we are done. Please follow any instructions in the notice." Please can someone explain what is going on ? Why is this happening? Ps We have 2 young kids(both under 3 years old) who both are US citizens and registered at the embassy with US passport but my wife is not and we are trying our hardest to bring them all back to the US.
  9. I married my husband 10/12/13 in sudan, received approval of I-130 10/2014, my husband interview was july 2015, but his visa was denied Nov 2016 because they said his birth certificate was fake. My husband was born in a refugge camp in sudan but returned to our country Eritrea after the war ended. His nationality is Eritrean. When he went to get birth certificate from Sudan government, they denied him because he is not a sudan citizen. They someone in the office told him they would help him if he paid them. So with no other choice he did. The Us embassy said the birth certificate is not real and asked him to get another one. My husband got his birth certificate from eritrea which stated he was born in Sudan, and got the cetificate authenticate, but Nov 2016 the US embassy denied my husbands visa because they said he committed fraud and needs to get birth certificate from Sudan because he was born in Sudan. My case was sent to USCIS 4/31/17 for review. I file a 1-601 waiver accepted 9/17. And yesterday I received a update i will receive a letter of intent to revoke my I-130. My husband and I are so sad and tired over all of this. My lawyer said they will fight it but does anyone have any similar experiences or ideas of what me and my husband can do. I just want him here with me so we can start our family, as soon as possible. I am at an age were my window for child bearing is get late. And i want to have a baby asap with my husband. But I want us to be together when it happens.
  10. Hi Everyone Our visa was received on the 4th October, and since that time it has been on 'case is received'. My question is should it have moved to another stage, such as 'initial review' by now? 2 months seems like a long time for it to be on case is received. Or, does it go straight from 'case is received' to NOA2. If it normally would have moved on to another stage by now, what might the likely reason be? Many Thanks in advance, if more info is needed let me know
  11. Let me first preface this by saying this is more of a "how-to" or a list of my experiences than a review. As these usually go, I will go through travel, experience, wait, interview (documents needed), and so forth. Skip to the section you're most interested in. Travel (To and From Airport to Downtown) Getting around Montreal can be fairly confusing, especially if you aren't used to cities of this size or if you've never read a word of French in your life. Almost all street signs are exclusively French, and all wording on buses and trains is exclusively French. With this in mind, keep a keen ear and listen for the street names in announcements to get an idea of where you are and how far you've traveled. Step 1: Getting from the airport to ANYWHERE can be expensive. The cheapest option will be a 3 (or more) day pass on an STM L'Occasionnelle card. 3 day pass is only $18 and works for buses and trains in the Metro. A cab ride downtown is around $50 one-way. See what I mean? At the airport, follow Sortie (exit) signs until you see the front doors. Look for signs that say "747" with arrows. Follow them until you either go to the info booth or the digital self-serve STM kiosks to print out your card. Yes there are English options on the STM machines. Step 2: Walk outside and go as far right as you can at the airport's front sidewalk, again following the 747 signs. You'll likely see a long lineup with people holding bags waiting for or getting on a bus. Make sure it says 747 and hop on! Your card works here. The pink bus line is MUCH faster than the green bus line as the green line usually has a huge line of people waiting. You'll see what I mean when you get there. Either way though, it will take you to your next stop...... Note: Even if you are forced to take a cab, simply take the cab to the subway station below. It will still be cheaper to get a ticket there and use it for the week. Step 3: The next stop is Lionel-Groulx. Pronounced (roughly) like Li-yon-al Grow. You'll walk inside, down an escalator, and hop on the subway going towards your place of stay. Look at the subway map and try to figure out which station is closest to your hotel / airbnb / hovel, and go in that direction. To get downtown, hop on the Honoré-Beaugrand platform. Again, listen for your stops or count them out as you go by as it can be hard to hear the announcements, especially if you are a non-native speaker of French. Note: The closest station to the consulate is the McGill station which is only 4 stops away from Lionel-Groulx! Step 4: The consulate is located at 1155 Rue St-Alexandre. The door looks like an unassuming door on the side of the building, but it is the only door directly on St-Alexandre. It has a US consulate logo on top of it. Walking here to and from most hotels and places downtown (especially since you're now an expert in getting around the metro) is a piece of cake. 5 min walk to McGill station. 20 min walk from Peel station. Step 5: On your return trip, go back to Lionel-Groulx via Angrignon platform. Once at Lionel-Groulx, walk to the street and head to the corner of Atwater and Delisle. You'll see a bus stop marked "#61334". It will also say 747. Wait for the bus that has "P.E.Trudeau" printed on the digital screen and you'll also likely see more people with baggage waiting. This will take you all the way back to the airport. Inside the Consulate Step 1: A guard will greet you at the door. About one foot inside the door is a small podium where they will confirm your appointment, check your passport and appointment letter, and they'll give you a laminated number as well as a list of documents they need. You are then told to proceed to security which is right in front of you. Step 2: Security is similar to the airport security. Take off any jewelry, metal objects, belt, empty pockets, jackets, etc.. They will ask you to turn your phone off and take it from you. You can keep everything else. They will hand you a very small ticket with a number on it. Keep this safe or you won't get your phone back! Note: While at the appointment I saw many women with rather LARGE handbags and purses. Likely they would also let you in with a carry bag luggage that you might fit under the seat on an airplane. Step 3: Head down a flight of stairs and then across a hall. To your left will be a photo booth that does passport photos for $10 if you need to retake them. The elevator is at the end of the hall and only has two buttons: RC and 19. Hit 19. Step 4: You'll enter a waiting room. For me, about 15 people or so were waiting in the "immigrant visa" section. Sit down and (again, for me) 10 minutes pass and they'll call your number that you received earlier up. In these 10 minutes you should gather the required documents from their list and put them in order. Not necessarily in the order they say, but as long as you have them all together you'll be fine. See REQUIRED DOCUMENTS below! Step 5: At the window, they will ask for the documents they had you gather, in no particular order. In fact, it seemed as though the person behind the window was remembering them as they went. They will prepare a file for you, and get you to take your fingerprints on a digital scanner. You're then told to wait until your number is once again called. This person was very friendly and understanding. She explained what I did and did not need to hand in. Step 6: For me, an hour passed before my number was again called. I went down a hall and into a more private booth with a window. I was asked very basic questions such as "When was the first time you met?" "When did you start a relationship?" "How often do you visit?". She also thumbed briefly through the Affidavit of Support (I-134) and that was it. She handed back all originals. Again, see required documents below for what she did and did not take. I can't tell you enough how friendly (and happy) the person doing the interview was. She said she loved hearing about the "love stories". Step 7: I was informed that the application was approved, was handed a letter saying "Welcome to America", as well as a link to the "ais.usvisa-info.com" site where you paid the MRV fee, and was told Canada Post would email me a tracking number in 5 days. This tracking number can also be found on that link. Required Documents Do not use this as a bona fide list! This was from MY personal experience and yours may differ. Always follow the Packet 4 instructions! DO NOT EXPECT / ASSUME THIS TO BE THE SAME FOR YOU. Documents I was asked for on the letter given to me: Passport + Bio page copy Divorce Decrees (original only)** Fiance statement of intent PROOF OF PAYMENT (this is not listed on Packet 4, but is mentioned when you pay!) Affidavit(s) of support Medical sealed exam Long-form birth certificate + copy Police certificate 2 color photos (again, they do have a booth downstairs if these weren't accepted or were lost or forgotten) **Note: Divorce decree was not mentioned on their form but both the first and second person I saw mentioned previous marriages and I had the decree ready. Documents I was NOT asked for (These did not even appear on their list at the consulate) CEAC confirmation page of DS-160 Proof of US domicile Proof of petitioner status Any previously submitted info on the I-129F including photos, relationship evidence, old passport stamps, I-94, relationship history (seriously none of it!) I was handed back originals (including divorce decree) after the interview.
  12. Hi guys this as my first post on this forum but basically me and my love filed our petition on March the 20th and its was recieved by the CSC we had been patiently waiting and we got an RFE on the 27th June 😔 we made a silly error and forgot to check 2 boxes 🙄🙈 and also they needed my partners long form birth certificate not his short form . We replied the them within 3 weeks and on July 20th they recieved our response , it's now been 5 weeks and we still haven't heard anything I'm getting so upset and worried it's making me physically sick mainly because everyone else seems to hear back so fast after their rfe response 😔 Any idea how long they can take to make a decision ? I was under the impression it was 60 days but just wanted to hear some experiences . Thankyou ❤️
×