Boston MA USCIS Office Reviews

The Reviews below are actual experiences by members of the VisaJourney community and provide insight into the many immigration related offices around the world. If you are a member and would like to submit a review please follow one of the links below. To find reviews on a consulate or CIS office please make a selection from one of the pull down tabs and click "Find Entries".


Submit New Consulate Review     Submit New Local CIS Office Review     Statistics: Country || Local CIS Office
Consulate:    Local Office:    Rating:    Topic:   

Boston MA USCIS Office Reviews
Average Rating: 4.3 / 5
118 Review(s)
Boston MA Review #29214 on February 25, 2021:

KAP2019




Rating:
Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: Adjustment of Status

My husband (USC) and I (applicant) just had our interview yesterday at Lawrence ASC.

It went smoothly. My husband was called in first with all the paperwork. He showed them the pictures we'd brought and the only documentation they asked him for was our mortgage deed. He was asked about half a dozen basic relationship questions.

Then I was called in, sworn in and asked a few dozen yes/no questions from the I-485. And then the same relationship questions. He then asked for I-693, which I handed over. There was some confusion about the validity of the medical. He didn't like that I'd done it in July 2020. He said it needed to be signed by USCIS within 60 days. I was shocked and said I thought it was good for 2 years. I also said that the deficiency notice says Do NOT mail it in. A fellow VJ member posted on forum that IO was mixed up on the policy. Regardless, the I-693 was accepted. And the IO stated that we'd be approved. We were in/out of the ASC within an hour.

A couple hours later case updated to "New card being produced."

PM
Top
Boston MA Review #29197 on February 22, 2021:

SodK

SodK


Rating:
Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: Adjustment of Status

I interviewed in Boston USCIS office 2/22/2021 for AOS based on marriage. I and my husband arrived early and went through the security check. We checked in 15min before our appointment time ( If you arrive earlier than that, you will need to wait for check in). We waited for about 70mins until we were called in. Interview was pretty quick and officer was professional. My husband and I were interviewed at the same time. The officer asked me questions first. (My name, date of birth, my parents name, Whether I have citizenship in any other country than my mother country, Do I have any children outside of US, My husband full name, Questions in I-495 Yes or no questions, Why I waited so long to file for AOS, why I quit my previous job). Then he asked me to sign I-485 and I-944 form. He then asked me for I-693 form which he looked at the spot. He then asked questions to my husband. (full name, date of birth, his parent's names, where he works, what kind of job it is) Then he asked about anything to change in the forms and anything I brought. I brought joint accounts, pictures, beneficiary of 401K and life insurance, Letter from doctors, wedding programs, cards from wedding, Marriage certificate) He took the copies of doctor's letter, bank joint accounts and beneficiary information out. In the end, he asked us whether we have any kind of questions. I asked about I-551 stamp but he said it is strictly no and must be done through infopass appointment. The officer was succint and kind. After I left the office, my status was changed to 'new card is being produced'!.

PM
Top
Boston MA Review #29009 on January 14, 2021:

maisfree




Rating:
Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: Adjustment of Status

We had an interview at the Boston USCIS two days ago. We were approved on the spot!

We arrived ~15 min before the appointment time. Did the temperature check before walking to the front desk, then presented the interview letter to the front desk receptionist. She asked if we traveled out of state recently and we said no. She wrote a number on the letter, gave it back to us and said have a seat and wait for that number to be called.

We sat in the waiting room probably for 20 min or so (definitely felt longer than that!). There were four interview rooms. When our number was called, we walked toward the room where our immigration officer was waiting, holding the door open for us. He greeted us and asked me (the beneficiary) to come into his office alone while my husband (the petitioner) waited outside.

I walked into the room, and the officer closed the door. After swearing under an oath, I got seated. He asked for a passport and the interview letter. Then, he took a picture of my face, and took the fingerprint.

He said, "there was a red flag on your case because 1) your first interview was canceled, and 2) you overstayed after your F-1 visa was expired." I explained why our first interview was canceled (basically, we had put my in-law's address as mailing address on all the application forms, and although we live in Boston, they scheduled our first interview in Hartford CT. The officer there said she can't interview us since it is outside of her jurisdiction, and canceled our interview. This resulted in 3 months extra wait until this interview in Boston was finally scheduled!).

Then, the officer moved onto talk about my overstay. He said "since you are married to a USC, your overstay is forgiven." Then, he asked for the completed I-693 and all the supportive documents/evidence for a bona fide marriage that I brought (joint apartment lease/joint bank account statements/health insurance cards/retirement account beneficiary info/life insurance beneficiary info/pictures of us together and with family and friends). Then he asked me to say my legal full name and DOB, and my occupation, and asked all the yes/no questions on the I-485 form.

Then, he moved onto asking about our marriage and the history of our relationship - how we met, and what we did on our first date, and when our wedding was, and what drew us together - common interests, etc. He took notes of my answers. Once I was done giving my answers, he called my husband into the room. He swore an oath, and got seated.

The officer asked for his full legal name and DOB and his birthplace. He also asked about his occupation and asked if there were any changes that need to be made on the application forms so he gave him the new information and the officer updated the I-130 form right in front of us. Then he asked the same questions about our relationship - my husband gave basically the same answers that I gave (phew! What a relief). After that, the officer said "well, looks like you guys have been together for a long time (we met 8 years ago, and married 4 years ago), and looks like a real marriage to me. If your I-693 looks good, I am going to go ahead and approve your case. If you track your case online, it should show an update as approved. You will receive your card in two weeks or so." YESSS!!! I have to admit that we were a bit intimidated at first that they separated us, but the officer was courteous and friendly the entire time. We thanked the officer then exited the building. The interview itself was ~25 min or so. I checked my case online and it got updated to "new card is being produced." It's been a 1 year and 5 months since we had filed for AOS. This is such a huge relief to get the approval finally. I hope this information is helpful to those going to interview at the Boston USCIS!





PM
Top
Boston MA Review #28809 on November 19, 2020:

emrie

Emrie


Rating:
Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: Adjustment of Status

Interview today went very smoothly. We arrived about 15 minutes ahead of schedule, as directed, and security took a few minutes. The agent came and got us about 5 minutes after the interview time, and interviewed us both together. He started off explaining that we had a good case, and that's why he wasn't separating us.

No hard questions, aside from my nerves when he asked for 2019 Tax Transcripts instead of Tax Returns and I didn't have them. He asked some basic questions of each of us (partner's birthday, parents' names) and asked my husband a random selection of the Yes/No questions from the I-485. At the end he had us tell him together about how we met/dated/got married, and there was some laughing and joking around. Then he said "Okay, you're totally married. I think we're done" and said he'd submit the approval on the spot. We got the email notification that the card was being produced within two hours of leaving the appointment.



PM
Top
Boston MA Review #28802 on November 18, 2020:

probingoduke

Probingoduke


Rating:
Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: Adjustment of Status

Tips for Boston office:

Dress business casual. Prefer not to wear a suit.
Try taking public transport. 
If driving in, prepare for $$$ parking.
Multiple garages near building but bad sign directions.
Typically takes us 30 mins to reach office but today all routes had accidents so it took us 1 hour 40 mins. Always account for the unknown. Or get a new yorker partner like me.
You will most likely be separately interviewed. Typically, the petitioner goes in first with all docs and evidences. Boston officers are generally very friendly.
If you have an attorney, the officer can offer you to go in with your spouse instead of going in with your attorney. Our attorney recommended going in with them instead.
Entrance foe visitors is on Cambridge street so try looking for signs or park at Boston food market garage.
When you enter the building, you will be asked to remove belt, shoes and jacket like at an airport TSA. Account time for that.
When you enter the interview waiting hall you will be asked 'have you been outside mass in the last 14 days?'
Package preparation:

The interview notice comes with a list of items to be brought. Just focus on that.
We hired an attorney so he gave us a run through of the same and did a 'prep interview'.
We made one folder to keep documents in the series mentioned as per the interview letter: Interview letter & Passports, I693, I864, BC and so on.
Try getting tax transcripts from IRS website right away
Try getting a letter from your bank/cc company sharing that you own joint cards and accounts.
We made another folder for the 'thick materials' like 12 months of bank statements, 12 months of CC statements, 12 months of phone bills and since we don't have a lease as proof of living together we had collected mail over the year.
We also made 3 photo albums. 1 depicting our story on how we met and all. 1 of our small wedding ceremony. 1 of our rescue animals (my wife runs a rescue so we have saved about 150 animals. Try making a similar album for hobbies/things that you and your partner do together (it will help, can even just be an album of your messages etc.)
We had also printed out all our air/bus/hotel/Airbnb reservations and tickets.
Receipts for gifts we got each other.
We also asked our friends to write letters stating how long they knew us, when they met us last and all.
Backpacks/luggage are not allowed. Try preparing to have a transparent bag or hand carry docs with you.
Questions asked (overall interview time 45 mins). Very conversational:



My wife went first and after taking an oath was asked the following:

Drivers license and Passport to verify her name, address (how long she has lived there) and parents name.
Any former names
If this was her 2nd marriage and what her ex husbands name is
Why first marriage ended and when did he move out
How we met
Did her ex ever meet me
Proof of bonafide marriage: Photo album
How many pets and their names/breeds
How we first met, what we did on our first date, when I met the pets, how i liked them
Took tickets to events we attended and Airbnb reservations.
Took CC Letter, tax transcripts
My work status, what kind of job i did, work from home or on site, what my company did, what my work status was
What visa I had and previously had
Whether she had any dietary restrictions (she saw that I got her vegan cake)
What was our fav restaurant
What we liked to cook at home
When I went vegan
How her business was going with covid
Then I was called in and after oath was asked (conversationally):

Drivers license and Passport to verify my name, address, and parents name.
Any former names
If this was my or wife's 2nd marriage and what her ex husbands name is
When did ex husband move out
When did i move in
How we met
Did her ex ever meet me
How many pets and their names/breeds
How we first met, what we did on our first date, when I met the pets, how i liked them
What things we did together
My work status, what kind of job i did, work from home or on site, what my company did, what my work status was
What visa I had and previously had
Whether I had any dietary restrictions
What we liked to cook at home
How her business was going with covid
Then we went through our I485 questions (whether I'm terrorist, communist etc)

Took photo with webcam.

Took index fingerprints on both hands.

Confirmed 1 change that I was unemployed since we filed and I signed on that

Then she said I should be getting a letter soon and it may be my GC for 2 years. Briefly told me about ROC. She was shocked that I had 2 appts for bio.

We thanked her and that's all.

PM
Top
Now Showing Records 1 to 5 (of 118 total)

Pages: 1 2 3 Last  





Review Statistics: