nathanp

age requirement

53 posts in this topic

my fiancee is 17 years old but will turn 18 on sept. 8th of 07'.we want to do the fiancee visa.but we arent sure if she needs her parents permission to do it or bcuz she is 18 she needs no parents or legal guardians permission and the onlything that can stop her from coming is the embassy themselves.can any1 tell me if its true or not about her age and her parents permission.she is from the philippines and i am a legal united states resident.im 20 years old.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

my fiancee is 17 years old but will turn 18 on sept. 8th of 07'.we want to do the fiancee visa.but we arent sure if she needs her parents permission to do it or bcuz she is 18 she needs no parents or legal guardians permission and the onlything that can stop her from coming is the embassy themselves.can any1 tell me if its true or not about her age and her parents permission.she is from the philippines and i am a legal united states resident.im 20 years old.

Are you a resident or a citizen? They mean two different things and you can only do a K-1 or K-3 as a citizen.

You will need parents permission if she is not of legal age where you plan to get married. It might be better to wait a couple months to file until she is 18 and then you should have less issues.

keTiiDCjGVo

Filed: Other Country: China
Timeline

If she is of legal age by the time the visa is granted, she doesn't need parental permission. I'm not talking about marriage permission but legal age to leave the PI without parental permission. She's going to be 18 before any visa is issued and she does not have to be for you to file the petition.

Facts are cheap...knowing how to use them is precious...
Understanding the big picture is priceless. Anonymous

Google Who is Pushbrk?

A Warning to Green Card Holders About Voting