Gayanehov

B2 visa documents

13 posts in this topic

Hi everyone! I will have my interview for a B2 visa at the Belgian US Embassy soon and want to understand which documents make sense to present and what my chances are.

I am a 21-year-old female, an Armenian citizen in my last year of a bachelor program in the Netherlands (I have a Dutch residence permit expiring at the end of 2023). I am finishing my studies in July, but my graduation ceremony is in September/October of 2023. My family is in Armenia, but I have a cousin and other distant relatives in the US.

I have been in a long-distance relationship with an Armenian-American since 2018. He became a citizen in 2022 and visited me in Europe immediately in the spring of 2022, and then visited me again in the Netherlands in October of 2022. I want to visit him this time in the US in August/September to meet his family and go sightseeing.

I am a full-time student and I am finishing my full-time internship at the end of February, and I have applied for a research assistant position at my university which is remote and will last for 5-6 months starting in March. I have not yet decided what I want to do after graduating, I may or may not apply for a master's or may decide to stay in the Netherlands to do another internship/work.

I have traveled to many countries including multiple European countries on a Schengen visa and Israel (I figured this might be good to show since it is quite difficult to get into Israel).

What documents do I need to present? The list in the email confirmation mentions these:

The purpose of your trip - Should this be an invitation from my boyfriend or something else?

Your intent to depart the United States after your trip; and/or - should this be a plane ticket back to the Netherlands/Armenia and can I use my graduation ceremony as a reason?

Your ability to pay all the costs of your trip - I have around $1300 in my bank account which will cover my flight tickets