58 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: France
Timeline

Dear VisaJourney forum users, 

I have been reading chats for days, and firstly, I would like to say I am impressed by the quality of the pieces of advice and shared experiences I have found on here. This is the BEST US Immigration forum I have found til this day :) 

I would like to receive your advice & guidance on the following topic please: 

My Case;

I have been a US permanent resident since 2012. 

I first entered the U.S with a student visa (F1 if I remember well). After 4 years being a student I got sponsored by my ex wife in 2011, and got my Green Card this way.

In April 2019 I went back to my native country (France) due to major personal & family issues. I did not file for a re-entry permit because my trip was temporary

I decided to extend my stay in France because my grandpa was dying from a brain tumor and was diagnosed with less than 12 months left to live, and I wanted to be there for the funerals and to be with my family.

At the time my grand father passed away, I had been out of the country for about 10 - 11 months. 

This is when E. Macron, our President, declared the state of emergency and restricted the ins & outs of the country. 

Knowing I'd be in trouble to go back to the U.S later on, I filed a Returning Resident visa (SB-1). 

It took a very long time before I actually got an appointment with the U.S embassy based in Paris. 

My case got declared eligible, and after gathering all the requested pieces of evidence and taking the medical exams, I finally got an appointment for the second round of interview. 

Within less than 5 minutes the immigration officer denied my visa and gave me back my Green Card. 

I asked if I could make an appeal and/or go back to the U.S, and he told me it was not possible because of the denial.