TangoVictor

Girlfriend is LPR, I’m a F1 student, when to file?

5 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Colombia
Timeline

Hello,

I’m an international student in the US with an F-1 visa. My legal status in this country depends on me getting a job offer before January 2021 in order for my school to start the 6 month CPT. 

I’ve been dating my girlfriend for 7 months now, she is a permanent resident (she’s the love of my life) and her early naturalization window opens on Oct 11th. Our original plan was for me to extend my legal stay here as much as possible (using the 6 month CPT and requesting the 12 post completion OPT) while she got her citizenship, so we could get engaged and have a wedding. 

Now, those plans are getting complicated because getting a job offer in the industry I could apply to, is close to impossible during this pandemic. That’s why we were wondering, can we get married now and request to adjust status and then when she becomes a citizen “upgrade” the request to USCIS? Could I get work authorization? How will the process work, is there a guide somewhere? What option do you think is best?

Thank you! 

09/22/20: AOS package mailed  (I-130/I-485/I-765/I-944) 

09/26/20: Package delivered

10/26/20: Checks cashed

10/27/20: Received texts with 4 receipt numbers

10/30/20: Received NOA1 in the mail, PD is 09/30/20

02/08/21: Received I-963 deficiency notice in the mail (dated 02/03/21)

02/26/21: Received Biometrics appointment letter for 03/17/2021 (dated 02/20/21)

03/17/21: Biometrics appointment completed

03/18/21: Case Was Updated To Show Fingerprints Were Taken (I-485)

03/19/21: Sent e-request for I-131 (Outside Normal Processing Time)

03/20/21: Case is Ready to Be Scheduled for An Interview (I-485)

03/22/21: Interview Scheduled

04/26/21: Interview - Case is being held for review

05/07/21: We ordered your new card (I-485)

05/10/21: I-485 & I-130 - Case Was Approved

05/14/21: Received green card in the mail!