K + M

First year filing taxes after K1

59 posts in this topic

Hi VJ.  

Our Scenario:

My wife (from UK) entered with K1 may 2019, we got married june 2019.  We applied for AOS October 2019, she is currently waiting on EAD/AP.  She was working in 2019 back in the UK before she came over here.  From everything I have read so far we report her worldwide income - so what she made in the UK Jan 1st - departure date, and my W-2 income for 2019.  We also send in a letter stating how would like her treated as Resident Alien so she can file as MFJ.  What exactly do we state in the letter, or is there a certain form we fill in for her to be classified as RA?  From what I know form wise, I need my W-2, but other than that are there any specific forms for her so she can report her income?  First time having to file taxes (Ever) so really a tax newbie here, but really trying my best to get this right.  We want to file as MFJ, and want to make sure doing everything correctly, and would really appreciate some guidance from others who have done this before.  

Also 1 thing to add to this, I am not exactly certain the number of allowances to state (I am submitting a new w-4 form for my employer to make sure I am getting the correct taxes withheld each paycheck.)  We are married, no kids.  I am confused if the allowances for this scenario would be 1 or 2.

Thank you in advance for taking a look at both of the posts and helping, it is much appreciated.

@Wuozopo / Mrs Wuozopo,

With your knowledge of tax, I feel like this is a question for you...

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: England
Timeline
13 hours ago, Kerri and Myles said:

We also send in a letter stating how would like her treated as Resident Alien so she can file as MFJ.  What exactly do we state in the letter, or is there a certain form we fill in for her to be classified as RA? 

Publication 519 tells you on page 9 what should be included. It’s up to you to compose it.

How To Make the Choice