aceegreene

Proof of Domicile, Multiple Queries!

7 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Pakistan
Timeline

Hello everyone,

This is my first time here on Visajourney and I have a bunch of questions, hope to get some guidance from you all. My wife petitioned for my US immigration (she is a USC) and our I130 has been approved. At the NVC stage, we have to prove her domicile, which is proving complicated.

She entered the USA for her studies and had a permanent address (say ABC) of her uncle's, which she maintains to date. During her time there, she moved to a different address (say XYZ) and lived there for the remaining duration of studies. Her voter ID, naturalization certificate, state ID and Driver License (last two are expired at this stage) all have XYZ. While bank account only has ABC. During this time she got her citizenship. Then she came to Pakistan and lived there for 3 years. Then went back again to USA for grad school for 1.5 years. During this time, she did not change permanent address, did not renew any of her IDs or file taxes (wasn't earning anything so exempt from filing too). After that she came back to Pakistan and we got married in late 2017 and we have been in Pakistan since. 

Now I have searched for documents that prove domicile for USCs living abroad temporarily and the popular ones are: 

1. US Driver License

2. US Voter Registration ID

3. US Bank Account (statement or letter)

4. Tax Transcript

5. Proof of permanent address

Out of these, we have Bank account (which can also provide proof of permanent address), tax transcript from 2018 which shows our Pakistani address as mailing address because she filed from here and the voter registration ID (with address XYZ, which is not her permanent address). 

Now my questions are:

1. Can we use this voter registration ID (address different than permanent address) as evidence of domicile?

2. Can we renew state ID online with the permanent address from Pakistan?