Someone12345

I am a permanent resident (just got my 10y green card). Can I bring my single mother +50 to live in the US with me?

22 posts in this topic

Hi All,

I'm a single child, and my mom is a single mother. I recently got my permanent residency approved, and received my 10 year green card a few months back. I want to bring my mom to live here in the US with me, she's completely alone in Brazil (our home country), and I miss her so dearly, I want to bring her so I can take care of her.

1. With my permanent resident status, can I bring her?

2. I moved to the US with a K-1 visa, but got divorced before I got my I-751 filed. Can I apply for my citizenship in 2019 (after living here for 3 years) or do I need to wait until my 5 year anniversary? I came to the US for marriage, but I'm no longer married to the same guy - Im engaged to another american citizen now.

3. I'm eligible for Italian citizenship. If I'm an Italian citizen, does the process get somewhat expedited to bring her?

4. Could I bring her as a student so  she can spend some time here? My fiance owns a business, could we sponsor her so she can come as an employee and work with him like his secretary?

5. For parents, is it true the processing time is about 8 years? 

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Taiwan
Timeline

Only US citizens can petition for parents.....

"The US immigration process requires a great deal of knowledge, planning, time, patience, and a significant amount of money.  It is quite a journey!"

- Some old child of the 50's & 60's on his laptop 

Senior Master Sergeant, US Air Force- Retired (after 20+ years)- Missile Systems Maintenance & Titan 2 ICBM Launch Crew Duty (200+ Alert tours)

Registered Nurse- Retired- I practiced in the areas of Labor & Delivery, Home Health, Adolescent Psych, & Adult Psych.

IT Professional- Retired- Web Site Design, Hardware Maintenance, Compound Pharmacy Software Trainer, On-site go live support, Database Manager, App Designer.