ashleyjan07

F2A petition not yet filed- looking for guidance on the best approach

15 posts in this topic

Filed: F-2A Visa Country: Belize
Timeline

Hello all- I am new to this forum and I was looking for some guidance prior to filing an F2A petition for my (future) spouse. I am a legal permanent resident and I will get married next month with my 7-year-boyfriend who is from Belize. He is not currently in the US. My story is a bit different because I became an LPR in 2013 but I’ve always gone back and forth to Guatemala (where I am from) first because I was finishing my college degree and then because I started working for an international organization, in order to no affect status I requested and got approved (twice) for a reentry permit. I’ve finally stop travelling back and forth and settled back in the US (Florida). My boyfriend remains in his country but because he has a B2 visa, I wanted him to come and get married here so that he could wait here with me until his green card got approved but I was told that because I am not a US citizen yet he wouldn’t be able to adjust status (and also because a B2 Visa is only for visiting purposes not to come and get married and stay in the country) so I was told that we should get married ASAP but that he would have to wait overseas during processing of his immigration visa. Can anyone here please provide guidance about what would be the best (and fastest) way to bring him to the US. We don’t want to spend so much time apart. Appreciate it so much!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Vietnam
Timeline

The only option you two have is to get married, then file I-130 via consulate process. No one wants be apart from his/her love one but again the option you have is limited. 

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

There are not options, only one route and that is to file for him once you marry.