3 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Egypt
Timeline

Someone sent a message to me asking how our experience at the interview went.  I responded and then thought it might ease people's mind if I reported this info to anyone who was curious.  First of all, it took about ten months to get the interview...  Our interview was in Philadelphia.  We only waited 5 minutes to be seen.  The place was organized and not full of scary "detention officers" or whatever one would think from watching the news.

Here is what I answered to the message:

They saw us promptly.  Make sure you have a $20 bill to park.  It was not intimidating.  Of course, I talk to groups for a living.  I started by telling her we closed on our first home the day before and she asked to see the documents.  I gave them to her.  I gave her the address and she googled the house and looked at Trulia at all the photos.  It was just like we were having a conversation because neither of us is shy with people.  I usually store my photos on my phone on Google Photos, and I pay for a photo book every year.  I bought a photo book of our first year a couple of weeks ago and brought that and the one from last year that had photos with us in Egypt with his family.  This year's photo book had lots of photos of him with my kids and mostly my son Nolan and I.  There was one photo in regular clothes outside New Haven City Hall with the caption that we had just gotten married and that Nolan took the photo.  We did not have a wedding.  If she had asked, I would explain that my family lives in MA and I had already used most of my vacation time to go to Egypt to visit his family and to attend the immigration interview.  MA has a 3 day waiting period and I did not want to take all that time off from work.  Also, since he was not allowed to work, we just could not afford a wedding.  And, my kids were in school and I am fat and do not like dresses and it is my third marriage and on and on.  At age 43, we did not really