bigbuns1291

Marriage-Based Green Card Application (Canadian citizen marrying US citizen)

40 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

I apologize if this question has been answered before, or if I have posted in the wrong place but I am relatively new to this forum.

My girlfriend of 2 years and I are planning to get married in the summer (yay!) in Michigan, USA. I'm a Canadian citizen by birth and frequently visit her in USA over the summer and during breaks (I am studying in Med School).

I have one semester left to complete in Canada after our wedding this summer and I am not sure if I could apply for the green card in USA and then leave the country to come back and finish up my schooling in Canada.

So I'm wondering if it is possible to apply for the green card from Canada (after we get married in the States), . If yes, are there any drawbacks compared to if I had applied for it after I completed my education and came to the sates?

Thank you!!

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Netherlands
Timeline
5 minutes ago, bigbuns1291 said:

Hello everyone,

I apologize if this question has been answered before, or if I have posted in the wrong place but I am relatively new to this forum.

My girlfriend of 2 years and I are planning to get married in the summer (yay!) in Michigan, USA. I'm a Canadian citizen by birth and frequently visit her in USA over the summer and during breaks (I am studying in Med School).

I have one semester left to complete in Canada after our wedding this summer and I am not sure if I could apply for the green card in USA and then leave the country to come back and finish up my schooling in Canada.

So I'm wondering if it is possible to apply for the green card from Canada (after we get married in the States), . If yes, are there any drawbacks compared to if I had applied for it after I completed my education and came to the sates?

Thank you!!