13 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Sweden
Timeline

My partner and I have been together for over 2 years, we met when I studied/worked in the U.S. but I have since moved back to my home country (Sweden). We have been visiting each other many times since then and we are 100% sure that we are going to get married. I am visiting him again this summer, where I will also have a chance to meet parts of his family I haven't met yet (we lived in a different state than the one he is originally from). After that, we will go ahead and start the visa process. I work as a teacher, and I do not want to leave in the middle of a school year, therefore we have decided (the plan is) I will move back to the U.S. summer of 2020. The processing time for a K1 visa is about 8 months, and from what I understand, a CR1 visa only takes a couple of months longer. So either visa would work for us, timewise, as I understand it. 

After looking at the costs, a CR1 visa would be less than half of what a K1 visa cost, plus I would be able to start working right away, hopefully being able to get a job at the start of the new school year. However, cost is not a huge issue. I make enough to pay for my part without "breaking the bank" and my future husband has a high-income job. 

My real question here now is, what about the marriage? Would we have to get married abroad in order to file for a CR1 visa? Would it be considered visa fraud if we got married while I'm in the U.S. over the summer (when I am there on an ESTA), even if I do go back to Sweden after and then file for the CR1? Will it even be possible to get married legally/will churches let you get married if you do not have the "proper" visa?

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Taiwan
Timeline

For a CR-1, you can either marry outside the US......or you could marry inside the US while you are here on ESTA.  You would then have to return to your home country for the visa process......short visits are allowed during the process.