Peter Parker

232 days in the US with CR-1 process, but still no green card!

35 posts in this topic

Hey :),

I've never posted here because I have just dealt with things on my own up till now, but I'm getting pretty desperate because USCIS has screwed up my case so badly.

I'm a lawful permanent resident (with conditional status) after going through the CR-1 process, and immigrated in August last year. I was one of the first ever people to go through their new electronic case record system, where I had no physical visa packet. This seems to have rubbed up against personnel across USCIS not being properly trained in the new system, and I have fallen badly somewhere between the cracks. I'm not sure what to do at this point, short of just waiting forever on faith, writing to politicians, or paying a lot of money to an immigration lawyer.

Here's a timeline...

July 25th 2018 - Attended interview at US London Embassy for the final step of the lengthy CR-1 process; informed I was one of the first electronic cases so may have no physical visa packet
August 2nd 2018 - Received passport back in mail, and letter explaining immigration process, giving A number, DOS Case ID, and with info about physical visa packet crossed out by hand
August 2nd 2018 - Paid "USCIS Immigrant Fee" online
August 6th 2018 - Immigrated to US through Boston airport, immigration official was a bit confused about lack of physical visa packet but proceeded okay and I got my temporary green card stamp in my passport
[December 4th 2018 - Should have received green card by this date in mail, 120 days maximum]
December 6th 2018 - Contacted USCIS about missing green card by phone
December 15th 2018 - USCIS replied saying visa packet was missing at Texas Service Center and that a lost packet process was being initiated (received in mail a few days later, likely delayed due to Christmas rush)