Hoon Kim

Just received 'request for document'

3 posts in this topic

Hello all!

We have just received the request document for my wife's AOS.

Specifically, they requested my (Petitioning Sponsor)'s I-864 and supplemental documents, as well as my dad (Joint Sponsor)'s I-864 and supplemental document.

this is the situation: when we applied for AOS, I was a medical student with a contract with the medical program (which specified income i will make) in my hand, but without actual income or any tax document for the last 3 years. 

so I asked for my dad, who is self employed, for joint sponsorship. (i didn't provide bank statement, business registration or license, or explanation of his business. i did provide all the schedules)

Now that I received the request for document, I am wondering if I should just send to them my information only, since I make sufficient income and have tax 1040 and w-2 to show for it. at the same time, I am worried that I might get in trouble for not supplementing information for my joint sponsor when they asked for it.

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Canada
Timeline

What do you mean by the letter requesting I-864? Did you not submit the actual forms? Or are the letters more specific? 

If you have a 2018 tax return showing that you have earned income above the 125% of the poverty line, you can submit a new I-864, the IRS transcript or the tax return, W2s, and a few recent pay stubs. 

If you do not have a 2018 (or 2017 if you're yet to file) return showing the necessary amount, then you need to proceed with a joint sponsor. 

It is not clear what you submitted and what USCIS wants. You need either IRS transcripts, or tax returns with W2s and recent pay stubs. Since your joint sponsor is self-employed, a complete IRS transcript with all applicable schedules is technically enough. You presumably have submitted all of your tax transcripts, or letters of explanation in lieu of transcripts? So what does the letter say exactly?