Ameliavb

Have P1 visa, should we get married?

14 posts in this topic

Hi. I am a US citizen and resident and am engaged to my Brazilian fiance. We are both circus performers and travel around the world on tour but want to get married and settle down in the US. I'm wondering if it's best to wait until his next P1 work visa for the US, wait for him to come here for work, and marry him immediately. If we did that, what are the steps we would need to take afterwards? Or is it a better idea to go the normal route of applying for a fiance visa? Thank you 

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Egypt
Timeline
6 minutes ago, Ameliavb said:

Hi. I am a US citizen and resident and am engaged to my Brazilian fiance. We are both circus performers and travel around the world on tour but want to get married and settle down in the US. I'm wondering if it's best to wait until his next P1 work visa for the US, wait for him to come here for work, and marry him immediately. If we did that, what are the steps we would need to take afterwards? Or is it a better idea to go the normal route of applying for a fiance visa? Thank you 

doing this is considered immigration fraud

you can file a K1 fiance visa, or you can get married in any country and file for a CR1.

you can not have him enter into the USA with intent to marry and adjust status that is illegal. 

6 minutes ago, Ameliavb said:

P1 work visa

This is not a dual intent visa.  You can marry anywhere but if it is in the US he will have to leave and interview elsewhere.   He can not enter on a P1 with the intent  adjust.  He can work here under the P1 while your other visa is processing.  He may have a challenge entering "for work" after you marry and have a petition pending.

March 2, 2018  Married In Hong Kong

April 30, 2018  Mary moves from the Philippines to Mexico, Husband has MX Permanent Residency

June 13, 2018 Mary receives Mexican Residency Card