cloobn

What to include for evidence of bona fide marriage? (Unique Situation)

5 posts in this topic

My husband and I are in the process of compiling evidence of a bona fide marriage to apply for the CR-1 visa. Our situation is a bit tricky, so I'm a little confused about what the best evidence to provide would be. Here's a little background information about our situation:

My husband is from the UK, I'm from the US. We'd been dating for 4.5 years, got engaged in December 2018, and had a super simple no frills marriage in February 2019 performed by a mayor in my town. My parents and sister were present, but there really wasn't much of a ceremony and we didn't exchange rings at that time. We're in the process of planning a bigger religious ceremony with both of our families for May 2020 when I'll be graduating from medical school. My husband has since returned to the UK. I am currently in my 3rd year of medical school and my fiance has been working in the UK for the past several years. I'll be graduating from medical school and finally starting to work in the summer of 2020, so this is when we'd ideally been shooting for him to be able to move over so we can begin our lives together.