AmyOlivia

To Affidavit, or not Affidavit... that is the question!

46 posts in this topic

Hello, one and all!

I'm new to this here community, but my fiance directed me to you because I've been plugging away at K-1 paperwork today and the flowchart of Visa progression really helped settle a bit of my anxiety! But of course, I still have a good many questions to ask and not many answers are forthcoming.

As the topic title states, I'm currently struggling with the whole Affidavit of Support section required for my interview with my Embassy in London, UK. It is listed as a required document, but then goes on to state that it MAY be required.

My fiance and I want to be ahead of the game (I already have everything else done and prepared from the checklist; DS-160, ACRO, Birth Certificate legal copy, Evidence of Relationship... you name it!!), so we'd really appreciate it if somebody could clarify whether the Affidavit of Support is required for us to file on the K-1.

As an aside, I'm currently in contact with the school district where I'm moving to in the Lacey/ Olympia area of WA, and have submitted an application to be a Substitute Teacher with them. So, if that proves fruitful, would I be right in saying that they could provide me with the evidence of support?

Thank you all for reading! And wish us luck for a speedy rest of the Visa process.

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline
5 minutes ago, AmyOlivia said:

Hello, one and all!

I'm new to this here community, but my fiance directed me to you because I've been plugging away at K-1 paperwork today and the flowchart of Visa progression really helped settle a bit of my anxiety! But of course, I still have a good many questions to ask and not many answers are forthcoming.