alexzy75

OAS TO PERMANENT OR CITIZENSHIP FROM STUDENT VISA

6 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: France
Timeline

Hello everyone,

Here is my situation: I am a permanent resident. I am going to apply for citizenship. My son is 17, he is going to graduate this year, and has been living with me, and has a student visa. He has been a student for the last 6 years..
Is it possible to ask for his citizenship when I apply for mine? if yes, how should I proceed?

Thank you very much for any of your advices or input! :-)
Alexandra

He needs to have a green card first (and be living with you In the US, which he is)  to become a citizen when you naturalize. Does he have a green card petition in progress already? If not, why? You will need this as your first step even when you are a citizen.

Timeline

Thank you very much for your reply. No he has not a green card. So now my questions are:

Can I apply for my citizenship at the same time I apply for his permanent residence card? 
and if yes, would that be like an AOS?

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Nigeria
Timeline

He will probably be 18 by the time your application is done so will miss out ( and he would have to have a green card first which takes 2 years )   he will still be an immediate relative most likely which would get him a green card right away and then he would have to get citizenship on the 5 year rule on his own.

This will not be over quickly. You will not enjoy this.

Timeline

I am also thinking, as the same time I am trying to get online information: 
since I am applying for citizenship, would it preferable to wait for my citizenship, and then ask for his.
I am reading this, from this page:
https://citizenpath.com/faq/petition-child-green-card/

U.S. Citizen Petition for Child

A U.S. citizen is able to file the I-130 for virtually any child. The child can be any age, married or unmarried. A U.S. citizen can file Form I-130 for:

Children (unmarried and under 21)