andrews2015

Disclosure of HIV status and being a public charge

37 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

I am a nurse by profession, HIV positive and on meds with undetectable viral load and high CD4, however, my employment based petition is for a different job title with annual prevailing wage of $40,000. Now at NVC stage.  Applicants are no longer being tested for HIV. 
(1) So do I need to disclose my HIV status?
(2) If I disclose, do I become inadmissible in the concept of “public charge” due to high cost of treatment in the US?
(3) How do I overcome being a public charge in my case?
(4) If I dont’t disclose my status, will I be held at the port of entry due to bringing medications for a condition not revealed during the medical examination? 
And how many bottles of medication can I bring?
I hope someone can help me. I’ve been through a lot. I am very anxious and I don’t want to give up my American dream. 

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline
1 hour ago, andrews2015 said:

I am a nurse by profession, HIV positive and on meds with undetectable viral load and high CD4, however, my employment based petition is for a different job title with annual prevailing wage of $40,000. Now at NVC stage.  Applicants are no longer being tested for HIV. 
(2) If I disclose, do I become inadmissible in the concept of “public charge” due to high cost of treatment in the US?
(4) If I dont’t disclose my status, will I be held at the port of entry due to bringing medications for a condition not revealed during the medical examination? 
I hope someone can help me. I’ve been through a lot. I am very anxious and I don’t want to give up my American dream. 

You will go through a prior health interview at the medical and you best not keep that a secret.  HIV is off the list of communicable diseases

Edited by payxibka

YMMV

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Mexico
Timeline