28 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Egypt
Timeline

Does anyone have any experience with marriage in a third party country, i.e., not either of your home country?

Then registering the marriage in each of your respective home countries?

Does anyone have an experience or knowledge about this?

Thank you!

Well the USA doesn't require anyone to register their marriage.  So you'd have to check with your home country to see if they require that.  

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose.  - Dr. Seuss

Timeline
5 minutes ago, NikLR said:

Well the USA doesn't require anyone to register their marriage.  So you'd have to check with your home country to see if they require that.  

Thank you.  I'm new to this process, so forgive me if I sound stupid.

So I'm wondering if there would be any issues if we got married in a third country... not USA, and not SO's home country.  Wondering if anyone else has done this or knows anything about it.

4 minutes ago, MohamedAndRebecca said:

So I'm wondering if there would be any issues if we got married in a third country... not USA, and not SO's home country.  Wondering if anyone else has done this or knows anything about it.

Just whatever rules and regulations are required by said country and your own. 

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose.  - Dr. Seuss

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline
10 minutes ago, MohamedAndRebecca said:

No issues from a US immigration standpoint.

YMMV

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Egypt
Timeline
41 minutes ago, MohamedAndRebecca said:

is there a reason you didn't want to get married in either home country?

don't get me wrong that is your choice, just was curious if there was an obstacle you were trying to avoid.

Edited by Khallaf

Timeline
16 minutes ago, Khallaf said:

is there a reason you didn't want to get married in either home country?