banteras

Dealing I-751 Divorce waiver with Wrong Green Card.

46 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello people,

Its my first time writing on the forums. But i already studied a lot of things, thanks to all of you.

I m facing a strange situation. In about 20 days is the dead line to file my I-751 asking for a divorce waiver.

I was given an erroneous Green card due to the Consular error. They Gave IR ( 10 years ), when i must have CR for 2 years. Anyways, I did notice this later but i did not change it because i was traveling back and forth to my country and i needed it. Not time to wait for a replacement. Also in all those travels nobody asked me strange questions about the marital or the validity of the card.

I m thinking to write a cover letter stating this fact and treat this petition normally as CR, by mention the error and that was not at my fault.

Does it sounds as good plan?

Or you think they will deny the I-751 based on the fact that the card is not CR and they will want first to revoke it and then have me to file again.

But if they revoke it i am automatically out of status because of the Final divorce. ( Law says CR permanent resident status ends automatically after 2 years or if attorney general finds that the marriage was ended by divorce.).

Another i was thinking, is to play it stealth and not to file anything now, keep silent until the pass of 5 years when i can benefit of the statute of limitation, which means they cannot revoke card after this time. I think this is only for the third court jurisdiction states, though.

Any help much appreciated. Thank you very much!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Taiwan
Timeline

Please clarify:  Are you saying that you SHOULD have received a 2 year conditional card, but they mistakenly issued you a 10 year card?  and you purposely failed to submit an I-751 due to convenience?