Bjh

Language differences - how much of a problem?

25 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Brazil
Timeline

I am an American citizen by birth, 28 year old guy. She is Brazilian and will be 26 in a month.

I started talking to my now-fiance, who is from Brazil and speaks Portuguese, in August 2017 on Facebook. She added me as a friend, I had no idea who she was, but she was pretty so I just started chatting with her and got to know her. During this time, I also studied Portuguese intensely so I could communicate with her more easily (DuoLingo, Pinsleur CDs on the way to work, and when sentences were too long to understand, resort to Google translate).

She arrived in the US for a second time on a B1 business Visa in January of this year and we went to Portuguese mass on our first date. Thereafter, we went on dates 1-2 times per week and would spend 10-12 hours together on the weekends. I have lots of pictures of us together, including from when I graduated with my degree. (Unfortunately she was the only one who could make it.)

Generally, we would either speak in relatively simple phrases or use Google translate voice when what we wanted to say was beyond our language capacities.

We dated like this until I proposed to her in May, which she happily accepted. Unfortunately, I had to leave for a job later that month, and a few weeks later in June she needed to return to Brazil.

We've been talking daily either by voice, video, or text ever since, I even "met" her mother on video chat when she went for a vacation to her hometown. Since she is Roman Catholic, I've been taking classes to become a Roman Catholic myself and pray the rosary everyday. Right now I'm paying for her English Wizard classes, which is helping her with English, although she has a long way to go. Overall I would say my Portuguese is better than her English right now. Because of this, I help her out with her English listening skills daily on the phone.