Trymester3

Middle of Divorce, what's the proper way to file taxes?

19 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

So...I am a US Citizen, my wife is a US Conditional Resident. We are in the middle of a divorce. All of the paperwork has been filed, but we are still waiting on a decree.

During 2014 and 2015 we were married filing jointly (It was solely based off of my income though, since she didn't work at all during those years). She started working August 30, 2016 and I saw her W2 showing $6000+ earnings for the year of 2016.

How should we file our 2016 taxes?

1.) Should I file as Single, and should she file as Single even though we are technically still married?

Or

2.) Should we file Jointly/Married even though we are no longer together (but we were married for most of 2016)?

Or

3.) Something else?

*Additional Information, if she files solo she may receive some sort of refund since it's a W2. I work as an Independent Contractor so I work for a lot of companies, I never get a refund regardless of whether I file solo or jointly. I always have to pay money back. If we file jointly then there will be no refund for her, right? Also, our divorce is uncontested and there is no drama between us, so I'm not purposely trying to keep her away from any money, or get a cut of her refund. I just want all of the information that we submit to the IRS to align properly with all of the information that we've submitted to the USCIS (She did just submit the I-751with a divorce waiver to remove conditions on her Green Card).

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline

You're married still so you can file jointly as married or separately but still would be under married.

08/15/2014 : Met Online

06/30/2016 : I-129F Packet Sent

11/08/2016 : Interview - APPROVED!

11/23/2016 : POE - Dallas, Texas

From sending of I-129F petiton to POE - 146 days.

02/03/2017 - Married 

02/24/2017 - AOS packet sent

06/01/2017 - EAD/AP Combo Card Received in mail

12/06/2017 - I-485 Approved