Rushton50

Filing single or married question?

6 posts in this topic

Few questions:

I Have been a lawful perm resident for about 2 years now and in the past my wife and I filed joint tax returns since the first year of moving here. In that time I have set up my own business which is not turning over a great deal at the moment, but I started work over 3 years ago and progressed through the ranks and now make a good living as does my wife.

From what I understand by a co worker, my supervisor, if we file separate returns we could get a better tax return as neither one of us will individually hit the top tax bracket, but would if we filed jointly.

Combined we earned over 60k last year so divide by 2 you get where our average wage sits.

1..Is he right in what he says about filing separate?

2..Is there any disadvantage of doing this?

3. Can we file jointly in a different year should we chose?

And the big question...

I am considering filing my N400 possibly later this year and if we file separate, will this be an issue towards proving evidence of our relationship later on?

Thanks in advance gang!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Ghana
Timeline

If you're married you cannot file single. You must file either married filing jointly or married filing separately. You usually get better tax breaks when filing jointly.

Edited by AB loves AG

If you're married you cannot file single. You must file either married filing jointly or married filing separately. You usually get better tax breaks when filing jointly.

Thank you for your response, but all due respect I never stated to file as a single person, but I understand where the confusion would come from given how I may have worded my post.

We have had no children, we have not bought a house in the last tax period, but curious as to what tax breaks a married couple breaking 60k would get?