salamjamal10

questions about form I - 864 affidavit of support / I 485 Package

16 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Syria
Timeline

Hi,

I am filing form I 864 Affidavit of Support and I have few questions noted below that I need your help with:

1. I didn't file tax return on 2012 because I didn't work and I was at university. Do I need to provide a proof that I was a student?? How can I prove that I wasn't working?? and what the statement should look like??

2. for questions 18 a / part 6, what should I answer? I filed tax return for 2014 and 2013 but not 2012 because I wasn't working; I was a student

3. for question #20, do I need to check that box, and if so what the evidence should look like for the year of 2012 since I didn't file tax return because I didn't work and was a student?

4. What are the supporting documents that I need to submit along with this form? Please list all of them

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Indonesia
Timeline

1. You don't need to prove you were a student. You just can write that you were a student.

2. Check the No box since that's the truth.

3. Sounds like yes, you do need to check the box. The instructions make it clear and simple:

If you were not required to file a Federal income tax return under U.S. tax law because your

income was too low, attach a typed or printed explanation

4. The tax transcripts for years you filed returns (2013-2014). Pay stubs from current year. Employment letter if you switched jobs this year and your income is different than before.

And for future reference, you should post AOS-related questions on the AOS forum and not K-1 since you are past that now.

Edited to add: but I'm not sure if you are filing for Adjustment of Status, since you haven't filed out the timeline. Please do so to make it easier for others to give advice.

Edited by usmsbow

Removing Conditions Timeline

Aug. 10, '17: Mailed in I-751

Aug. 21, '17: NOA1

October 23, '18: NOA2- approval