usame

HR is terrible in the US

50 posts in this topic

Hey everyone,

I would just like to vent my disappointment at finding suitable employment in the US. I am a highly qualified business professional and I am having a hard time dealing with all the red tape in the US. I recently interviewed with a company for a role I would enjoy but it seems as though the HR department just wants to drag their heels. I have been on both sides of the table when it comes to interviews and I know that there is always 1 or 2 candidates who stand out. That is when you STOP the process and make an offer. What I have experienced thus far (I have only been in the US for a few weeks) has been the most unprofessional hiring process in my entire life.

People are telling me I need to "network" but that is impossible since I only know my spouse and a few friends. I feel like this supposedly great country is anything but great. Interviewers are ill equipped to interview and HR departments are very disconnected from Hiring Managers. I was expecting better.I will not stop my job search but it's getting to the point where I am very disappointed.

Filed: Country: Monaco
Timeline

The hiring process in the US can be frustrating and as of lately there is a lot of talent out there making it hard for the hiring managers to make a decision. Some companies also require that a few candidates be interviewed before they will make an offer to anyone, so it may be that they have a busy hiring schedule and you're on someone's docket somewhere. There is also the fact a lot of companies do speculative interviewing and take in outside candidates to interview for a position they already have an internal candidate picked just because they are mandated by HR to do so.