jens_prodigy

Advice for sister denied US entry yesterday

25 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, hoping I can get some advice for my devastated sister.

Yesterday, she was denied entry to the U.S.. She was coming, with her boyfriend, to spend a week on vacation.(they're both mid-twenties) It would be her boyfriend's first ever time in the U.S. and they were both so excited, they'd planned for months and saved all their money to come.They planned to stay with me (I'm a legal permanent resident) for the entire trip.

After she was pulled into secondary, the officers explained that she had an overstay on her record (30days) and that they were denying her but her boyfriend could go if he wanted to. He didn't want to leave her but she basically forced him to come so that he could still TRY to enjoy the vacation that they both planned for and so at least some of their money would not go to waste. But she is DEVASTATED and is wondering if she should try to apply for a tourist visa tomorrow and maybe, if she's approved she can try to catch some of the last days of the vacation with him.

Some background:

My sister was in college in the US a few years ago but in her sophomore year, our family experienced some financial difficulties after my father died and we could no longer pay her tuition so the school let her go. It so happened that during that same time my other sister was about to give birth in a few weeks (here in atlanta) so when my sister (the sister in question) decided to stay here until the baby was born and then go home. She ended up overstaying for thirty days.