Eric & Idalia

Advice about job offer from current employer

10 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Mexico
Timeline

Hi,

I will travel to Santa Fe, NM on Aug 8. My current employer in Mexico has a company in USA that is used just for business with other US companies. It doesn't have any employees. They have offered me to work for them as an independent contractor for $20 USD per hour and I have to pay taxes from that amount of money.

I am worried about moving to USA and looking for jobs. I have saving but I also am in debt. I am a Software Engineer with 7 years of experience in a bunch of tools. I was specialized in .NET but I have been working with different tools during the last 2 years I have worked in this company.

I feel overwhelmed with all the changes, and I want your opinion about if it's a good idea to accept this job. I am reading the contract and it seems they can terminate it at any time but I can't. It's a six-month contract. I will have to pay my own insurance.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Colombia
Timeline

Will you be living in Santa Fe? Does your spouse have a home/job in Santa Fe?

I can tell you that the State of NM puts out job postings for positions with the skills you have from time to time, but it will take time to land such a job. One requirement for a state job is residency and usually they require a drivers license to establish proof of that residency. If you are interested in working for the state, the six month contract job that you're talking about might be a good starter job while applying for other more long-term positions, whether it's with the state or some other organization.