confused999

Stress of the Visa Process Wrecking Our Relationship

69 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

I have been monitoring the forums for awhile and thank you to everyone for your helpful information. This is my first time posting.

My finance and I have been engaged for 6 months prior to filing for her VISA. I am in the USA and she is in the Philippines. We recently received our NOA2 and waiting on our case number. However we have not seen each other in 2 months and all of the stress of the visa process is really straining our relationship. We went from talking hours every day to now just a couple messages a day and it is seems the only thing we are discussing is the screwed up VISA process. Almost every night I think about just giving up on this process and withdrawing the petition. I seriously dislike the US government for what it is doing with all this visa nonsense to be with someone you love when there are 10 million illegals already in the country !

I am so confused right now.... Has anyone else felt this way or their relationship started fall apart during the visa process as I am really starting to wonder if it is really worth it and what have I gotten myself into... Anyone who has been through this and willing to share some experiences or advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You

Edited by confused999

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Try to remember the reason you filed in the first place, to be together.

I think everyones relationships have ups and downs but you've just got to try and make the time and ignore the process.

I know before the noa 2 for us i was an absolute nightmare stressing out getting upset and wandering if it'll ever happen

but as long as you talk it out and remember the reason why you're doing it

it'll all work out in the end :)

just think it'll be a crazy story to tell the kids

!