lala64

Son to come with Fiance.. Feeling overwhelmed

36 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Jamaica
Timeline

Hi all just wanted to bring up some feelings that I am having and am asking for some advice. My fiancé will be bringing his 8 year old son with him when he is approved. We have both discussed this in great detail and mutually agree that it is the best thing for him. His son has Cerebral Palsy since birth. the mother abandoned him last year and has given up her parental rights. He is pretty much total care but can communicate by pointing to things that he may need like when he is hungry or needs the bathroom so although he is unable to verbally communicate, he does has some cognitive skills and a sweet little boy. I am a nurse by trade and have skills In caring for disabled adults. not children. When I visited them, his father, my fiancé was very good at taking care of him and even carried him on his back when we went places but it was hard on him. I understand that when he comes that I will be responsible for his medical care cost and attention. When I visited them in Jamaica the sweet boy had nothing to help him get around such as a wheelchair etc. I know that once he is here that he would go to school and learn as much as he is able but don't really understand the cost associated with this type of disability and getting him the things he needs. braces, wheelchair and the chance to go to a special education class. I am not rich. I do make enough money to support us until my fiancé is able to find work but my feeling is that would be for a normal child. There will be no benefits from Social Security or any medical benefits allowed from the US. I have reached out to some of the programs associated with children with disabilities but even still they are telling me that he would need to qualify for a State program. I am so afraid and confused. It would make no sense for me to bring him here is I can not enhance his life or make his life better. He i